David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Really enjoy this recipe..I had to put my own spin to it...thanks again for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
My family loved this cake. It was moist and fluffy with no crumbling of the cake. Easy directions to follow. I will definitely be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
It tasted more like corn bread to me. It was a bit dense and not as fluffy as I'd like but I blame that on using all purpose flour and not cake flour (although I did sift the flour about 5 times)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seth-Elizabeth Irwin
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Light and fluffy is what i got. Plus it was tasty! I just altered it a little. I didn't have cake flour so I used all purpose flour took two tbsps out and added two tbsps of corn starch (another way of making cake flour). Instead of egg yolks I used 4 whole large eggs and used low-fat buttermilk instead of milk. I made mini cupcakes and we're in the oven for about 15 minutes at 350°F. Hope that helps a few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Never fails. Have made this recipe many times and it's always delicious. If you like boxed cakes - you will probably not like this. It's different (IMO much better)but if you have only made boxed cakes this will be really different. I always have my eggs and butter room temp before baking this. Have made it as a sheet cake, as a double layer, and as a triple layer cake (just adjusting the times). If I make it as a layer cake I make a simple chocolate truffle filling for in between layers then a chocolate ganache for the outside but it's delicious as is without any frosting or filling. My daughter likes orange in her cakes so I mix in a bit of orange zest if I'm making it for her. I have also made it with 3 egg yolks and 2 whole eggs (when I didn't have enough eggs) and that worked out ok too. I prefer the original recipe but sometimes have to improvise. The recipe is solid and reliable as is :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I followed the recipe to a T and really creamed my butter and sugar well. This cake came out very dense and a bit dry. I did like the flavor but not the texture. For all the work of separating 8 eggs just for the yolks I just don't think it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Wonderful cake. Made it twice last week. First one was a "test" second one was for a birthday. Followed the reviews and used just 4 eggs on the first one and it was fine. Frosted with a no bake marshmallow frosting that was perfect for this cake. Had extra egg yolks from the frostings that I saved for the second cake. On the second cake I used 3 eggs and the 2 yolks that I had saved. It was a bit richer but still a great cake. I put a raspberry filling in both cakes. After frosting I used a zester to grate some dark chocolate on top. This was all super simple and looked great. BEST YELLOW CAKE recipe I have made. It will be on the top of my list from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Amazingly fluffy! The most light, yet moist, yellow cake ever with no sinking in the center. Just flawless if you use Madagascar Vanilla Beans!! No icing required! This is a go to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
My cake was welllllllll..hummm ! A floppy not the recipe it was me.....going to go sit down and cry! ...mama t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This is hands down the best yellow cake recipe I've ever tried. I have made it several times and it's always great. If you follow the directions precisely and are sure not to overwork the flour, it will come out moist and delicate. The only problem I have with this recipe is that I can't seem to find the right frosting to go with it. It has such a great, light flavor, and I feel like all the frostings I have tried have overwhelmed its flavor. I've considered serving it with just a dusting of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,078) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States