David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This cake turned out perfect. I topped it with caramel and made a homemade caramel cake. It taste so much like a box cake. The first day it was okay but after a while it got better I guess the ingredients needed time to set in. I wonder if I can add cocoa powder to make a chocolate version of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
wow wow wow. super impressed. The first time i made this it was whatever, kind of dry but good flavor. This time, I did the same thing, followed the recipe exactly. MEASURE the flour after it is sifted a few times and DON'T add more flour, even if there is some left and the batter may look reaaal creamy like. I guess that was the key to getting it to come out delicious and not dryish. It came out AMAZING. Super light, fluffy, and just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This cake is AMAZING! I didn't have cake flour so I substituted 2 Tb of the all purpose flour with corn starch. Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
What a wonderful yellow cake!!! I followed the directions to the letter, beginning and ending with adding the flour to the mix. Frosted this with chocolate buttercream frosting and my husband was very delighted with his birthday cake. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Great recipe! I creamed the butter and sugar thoroughly for several minutes and made sure everything was room temp. My batter was a bit thicker than I'm used to but the cake was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I have tried a variety of cakes and recently started learning techniques in patisserie, and while the French are not typically known for cakes - this cake could change their minds. I made this cake with a chocolate ganache, then made a strawberry swiss meringue buttercream to seal the prized cake. It was fabulous, light, airy, with a small crumb and delicate texture that was still able to stand up to a dark chocolate ganache. Think of a Neapolitan that has been elevated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very tasty! It tastes likes its from a bakery! My only substitutions (especially for those who said it tastes like cornbread) is to add more sugar! I added an extra 1/3 cup and followed the directions and it came out good. It took longer than 30 minutes to bake but nonetheless my husband and I enjoyed it. This cake was the last piece that made our anniversary special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I am very new to baking from scratch. I felt very apprehensive about this recipe because of the varied reviews, but I gave it a shot. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I subbed all purpose flour for cake flour. I thought the cake was fantastic- I experienced none of the issues with dryness that others have mentioned and I really liked the flavor. I thought it tasted just like a yellow cake should. This is a great recipe for bakers of any skill level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Best yellow cake I have ever baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,098) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States