David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This was a great yellow cake. I used 4 whole eggs instead of 8 yolks and it came out moist and fluffy. I used it in a trifle and it was perfect. A definite keeper for all yellow cake needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Best cake I have ever made! I followed directions exactly, measured carefully and it came out moist light (but denser than a boxed cake) and delicious. My kids recognized right away this was no ordinary boxed cake. I was really proud of the cake it was beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly. I just used two 9" cake pans instead of 8". I made sure that all of the cold ingredients were room temp before mixing. Another thing that I did was I cut an old towel into strips (the width of my cake pans), wet the strips in cold water, then wrapped the strips around the outside of my pans before baking (I use large safety pins to keep strips in place). I learned this from a woman who worked as a professional baker for several decades. This helps the cake bake evenly so you don't have burned edges and raw middles. It also keeps the cake level as it bakes. The cake was very good! It was not dry or dense and tasted 1000% better than any box mix! I've seen yellow cake recipes with an extensive list of ingredients but this recipe is good just the way it is. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Wonderful recipe as it stands. One complaint - why give this recipe 3 stars when recipe was changed - drastically? Please stop rating recipes with adjustments - not fair to the submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I never thought I'd try to make a yellow cake from scratch because they always turned out dry and crumbly or cornbread like. This recipe shattered all my myths! Just because of this recipe, I might be officially done with box cake mixes. I didn't have cake flour, so I double-sifted, and all I had on hand to use was canned milk. It came out light, fluffy, and sweet, and I made cupcakes. I can't wait to make this into some layers and icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BANDGRRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Tastes delicious but not good for high altitude. i followed the directions exactly but reduced the baking soda and salt by half. The cake still rose up and spilled out of the pan onto to the bottom of the oven. I let it finish baking and my daughters and I spooned it out of the pan and ate it. It was delicious--very moist and crumbly--delicious but no good for a cake to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Tried this for the first time for my daughter's birthday cake and it turned out perfect. Everyone loved it! I'm not sure how anyone could rate this recipe negatively, but I have a feeling they missed one of the following keys to baking from scratch: * ALL ingredients (eggs, butter, milk especially) MUST be at room temperature * Cream the butter and sugar until it's really fluffy (this takes patience) * SLOWLY mix in one yolk at a time, barely blending * SIFT all of the dry ingredients. * SLOWLY mix in a small amount (about a third) of the flour, blending completely. Then about a third of the milk, blending completely. Repeat until all flour and milk is gone. I also made my own cake flour by measuring out 2 cups of all-purpose flour, removing 4 Tbsp, replacing it with 4 Tbsp of cornstarch, then sifting the mixture 5 times. Following this procedure takes some time, but made a super silky batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Deserves 10 stars! I thought I made the best yellow cake. That all changed when I found David's Yellow Cake. So moist. I made it for my birthday then went away for a few days having stored it unfrosted in a glass baking dish covered with plastic. I served it with only whipped cream and everyone thought it tasted like a Twinkie sans the chemicals and preservatives. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I think this is the first cake I've made from scratch that I've ever been proud of. It comes out very dense and sweet (almost too sweet), similar to a pound cake but not quite as heavy. As other reviewers noted, you need to really beat the sugar and butter mixture until VERY fluffy. Also, be sure to use cake flour--all purpose will make it dry and course. I needed a cake for strawberry shortcake so I tried this one. I made a half batch and filled one 9 in. pan. I topped it with sugared strawberries and whipped cream. My husband and I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I am still a novice with baking, so I read many of the reviews before making this cake. Being in a high altitude area, I also checked with allrecipes for adjustments- Big Mistake! It said to increase the heat 25 degrees and that is where my cake went wrong. Unfortunately, I burned the edges trying to get the middle done. I will make this cake again. To salvage this one, I poured coconut milk on the still warm cake and will finish it off as "my" version of a coconut cake. Give this recipe a try and listen to your fellow chefs- great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanRamWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,047) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States