David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
OMG!! This recipe is perfect. So moist and holds nicely. I wanted a natural cake and this is it. I added the 4 yolks and 2 whole eggs like suggested. I tried the recipe also with 8 yolks, it was nice and yellow more dense but still good. I wanted a little more rise the little egg whites helped. So good without frosting !! Thanks for sharing no more artifical additives !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Hello ladies & gent this cake rocks ,I'm a southern cooking Paula Deen kinda gal....and when I tell u this is the best cake evvvver (ever) hands down and SUPER MOIST u can put it on the board... And honey I'm not talkin' Baseball.. I put this recipe on my pineapple upside down cake and it was sooooooo good that I had to make it twice .my family love it u can even add pineapple juice to it with out alterations....cause this is a no fail recipe.... Memphis Loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This review was meant for another cake...sorry my mistake! But I do plan on trying this recipe soon. Please disregard. I made this for my sister's birthday and she loved it! I made it in a 10 inch cast iron skillet and had enough batter left over for 6 upside-down cupcakes. Both the cake and cupcakes turned out beautiful, very nice presentation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I had to make a couple of minor changes due to what I had on hand (AP flour vs. cake flour and 4 egg yolks and 2 whole eggs vs. 8 egg yolks), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I sort of goofed on the baking though (blonde moment-hope nobody gets offended! lol). The recipe's baking time is for 2 layer cake, I was using sheet cake and didn't know exact baking time for it so I set timer for 30 minutes and was going to just check it in 5 minute intervals, which I did. After 65 minutes I knew something wasn't right because it was still "jiggly" in the center and wet looking and I've never had a yellow cake take that long! I suddenly realized the oven no longer felt very hot. I looked at the control panel and suddenly realized I had turned the oven off at some point, most likely when the 30 minute timer went off! (Boy did I feel stupid-first time I ever pulled that one.) Anyway, I turned the oven back on, left the cake in the oven throughout the preheat (or reheat in this case) and 10 more minutes later it was done. After it had cooled I made a chocolate frosting recipe I found on this site. Bottom line-even after my screw-up with the oven, though it was initially a little dry, after about 24 hours it had moistened up a bit, and overall it was awesome! I bet it would have been even better with proper baking! Great recipe, no more box cakes for me except if absolutely necessary. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I did it exactly like it said to, and sifting multiple times. It fell in the center and tastes like a very sweet sugar cookie, not cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
mmm... very good cake especially paired with the right icing (chocolate in my case)i topped the cake with banana slices and strawberries. everyone in the family enjoyed for the most part but thought it wasn't very special and that past recipes for different cakes were better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This cake is the ish! It's kind of dry but tastes so good.. It's better than any box cake and it goes perfect with milk or ice cream.. Try it and you'll see..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JavoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Disclaimer: I didn't use cake flour, I substituted corn starch for some of the flour, but I followed the directions and watched the video This cake tasted pretty good, however, I didn't find it to be exceedingly moist. It reminded me of a tastycake junior in taste and texture (If you're from the Philadelphia area I'm sure you're familiar.) My kids really enjoyed it. I can't say that I'll make it again because it was just good, not great and 8 eggs worth of cake needs to be outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Made this cake for my son's birthday. My son has egg and soy allergies so I had to use a vegan egg yolk replacer made of brewers yeast, and it still turned out amazing! Almost too moist. Can't wait to try it with real egg for my daughter's birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,059) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States