David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Deserves 10 stars! I thought I made the best yellow cake. That all changed when I found David's Yellow Cake. So moist. I made it for my birthday then went away for a few days having stored it unfrosted in a glass baking dish covered with plastic. I served it with only whipped cream and everyone thought it tasted like a Twinkie sans the chemicals and preservatives. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I think this is the first cake I've made from scratch that I've ever been proud of. It comes out very dense and sweet (almost too sweet), similar to a pound cake but not quite as heavy. As other reviewers noted, you need to really beat the sugar and butter mixture until VERY fluffy. Also, be sure to use cake flour--all purpose will make it dry and course. I needed a cake for strawberry shortcake so I tried this one. I made a half batch and filled one 9 in. pan. I topped it with sugared strawberries and whipped cream. My husband and I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I am still a novice with baking, so I read many of the reviews before making this cake. Being in a high altitude area, I also checked with allrecipes for adjustments- Big Mistake! It said to increase the heat 25 degrees and that is where my cake went wrong. Unfortunately, I burned the edges trying to get the middle done. I will make this cake again. To salvage this one, I poured coconut milk on the still warm cake and will finish it off as "my" version of a coconut cake. Give this recipe a try and listen to your fellow chefs- great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanRamWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
The only alteration to this cake I made was a Tbs. of amaretto ( I think it gives a "yellower" cake taste)But this cake came out perfect, soft, fluffy sweet just amazing, you have to follow the directions to the letter and use the proper style ingredients for it to come out properly. This is one recipe I will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
The best yellow cake ever. I watched the video and it was helpful. Cake flour gives this cake a fluffy, perfect texture. -Iced our cake with Homemade Caramel Icing. 1/2 cup unsalted butter, 1 Cup packed Dark Brown sugar, 1/4 cup milk, Pinch of Kosher Salt, 1/4 tsp. Vanilla Extract, 2 cups sifted Powdered Sugar. -Melt butter in double boiler, gradually whisk in brown sugar until sugar is melted, add milk, salt, vanilla, whisking occasionally, bring to slow boil, remove from heat, cool in large mixing bowl ,gradually whisk in powdered sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Will probably update this review when I make it again. I made two modifications-I used 4 whole eggs and 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract. Turned out flavorful but didn't rise much at all and tastes a bit greasy. I think I'll try it again sometime and make sure my eggs and baking powder are a bit fresher. If the second time yields the same result as this time, I'd probably downgrade to 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
The best yellow cake I've ever made from scratch! I made it in 8" pans and split each layer. After frosting, you couldnt tell it from a professional bakery cake. It tasted wonderful--it just was not decorated fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This is only the second cake I've made from scratch and is turned out PERFECTLY! I took the advice below from another satisfied baker and added a little canola oil at the end (approx 1.5 Tbs), and the cake was moist and packed with delicious flavor. Well worth the cost of all those organic eggs. ;-) I paired it with a Swiss Meringue Buttercream icing (from Martha Stewart's site) and the compliments were fast a furious at the birthday party last night; my mother called it "the best cake she'd ever had." I will definitely make this one again. Thanks, David!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
No more boxed cake mix for this family! This came out great! Thanks a bunch for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HRNEWBIE
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I'm on the hunt for a scratch yellow cake recipe and tried this one tonight. It's okay but isn't great. I made cupcakes to test it. IMO a good cake recipe should be able to do both cakes and cupcakes. So while this may make a good cake, as others attest, as a cupcake it was not good at all. They rose oddly and spread out rather than in a standard dome and after cooling they sank a bit in the centers. (My leavening agents are fresh and used frequently so it's not an ingredient problem.). The cake itself was mottled in color rather than a uniform golden. Quite unappetizing in appearance, to be candid, which was disappointing because the batter was beautiful! The taste was okay. I actually liked the flavor of the cake but it was very dense and too dry. I was sure not to over mix and to follow the directions precisely to ensure the best results possible. I'm disappointed in how my cupcakes turned out and won't use this recipe again, although I am happy to hear others enjoyed it nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States