David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very tasty! It tastes likes its from a bakery! My only substitutions (especially for those who said it tastes like cornbread) is to add more sugar! I added an extra 1/3 cup and followed the directions and it came out good. It took longer than 30 minutes to bake but nonetheless my husband and I enjoyed it. This cake was the last piece that made our anniversary special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I am very new to baking from scratch. I felt very apprehensive about this recipe because of the varied reviews, but I gave it a shot. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I subbed all purpose flour for cake flour. I thought the cake was fantastic- I experienced none of the issues with dryness that others have mentioned and I really liked the flavor. I thought it tasted just like a yellow cake should. This is a great recipe for bakers of any skill level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Best yellow cake I have ever baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Wonderful yellow cake. It turned out moist and fluffy. The only thing i did different was adding lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is so very good. I have made this both with regular flour (when I lazily didn't feel like going to the store since I was out of cake flour) and then again with cake flour. While both were good, the cake flour makes a big difference--it was was much more delicate and not as heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This cake is soooo good. It's everything I was searching for. Moist, fluffy texture. Perfectly sweet, buttery flavor. I will look no further. As for the extra whites...make a meringue for a pie...try a healthy omelet, but this recipe needs no alterations. Cream the sugar and butter well. Don't over mix once you start with that flour. If you develop too much gluten, your cake will be tough. I don't even wait until all the flour is fully incorporated to start adding milk. Start and end with dry. 3 dry, 2 wet, alternating fairly quickly. Don't overbake. Bake til it's done...different ovens and other factors like elevation will affect cooking time. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I love this recipe! Now I did tweak it a little bit and I'm sure all those health nuts out there would cringe but instead of using 8 egg yolks and not having a need for the whites, I used 5 whole eggs :) It turned out so moist and fluffy I didn't even need to put icing on it. My husband who is not a big on sweets/deserts loves this cake! Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
My cake pans were 9 inch so I made one and a half recipes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Dude, your cake rocks! I followed your instructions to a tee and used the Hershey's recipe for chocolate frosting. It was for a birthday and less than one day later, there are only two slices left.....Hmmm, I see a family feud brewing. LOL! PS: Not that I would know, but it's great in the morning with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Excellent cake. I've made it a few times. Will continue to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccaboo7

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,061) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States