David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
best yellow cake i ever made from scratch! even better than cake mix. each time i make it, it gets better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly. I worked side by side with my daughter making 2 batches at once. What a waste of a LOT of eggs. I also thought it came out tasting more like corn bread and with a horrible texture. Also, the cupcakes batch overflowed my cups and made a huge mess in my oven in spite of only filling the cups 1/2 full. The cakes were very brown on top and a toothpick still came out with yuck on it. I was making these for my granddaughters birthday and they are a wash. A huge waste of time and money. I'm in Utah so maybe the altitude had something to do with it??? Try this one with caution.... Cake flour and eggs aren't the most expensive ingredients around, but still I hate to waste food. YUCK! I just want to cry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Westi Douglas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I will not use another yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I read a ton of reviews before making this. Here’s what I did and it DID turn out to be the BEST dang cake. We devoured this with a basic chocolate butter cream frosting. I substituted the milk with 1 cup buttermilk and changed eggs to 4 yolks and 2 whole eggs. I took a lot of time putting the cake together creaming and creaming and creaming the sugar and butter for a while. Then I added each egg yolk at a time and still beat and cream a lot in between each one. I whisked the flour mixture awhile instead of sifting it as my sifter is too small to allow the salt through. I baked in two 8” rounds and found it only took about 20 minutes to cook. I was careful to check that early on after others talked about being dried out. This cake was not dry. It was moist and tasted unlike any other yellow I’ve ever had. Amazing Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This recipe certainly lived up to its ratings in my kitchen! I just made this for a friend with severe food allergies, so I substituted Earth Balance Soy Free Buttery Spread for the butter and rice milk for the milk. After reading other comments, I brought all ingredients to room temperature. I also chose to weigh the cake flour (224 grams) and hand mix the dry ingredients in a bowl instead of sifting. The only problem I had was that the cake stuck in the pans and almost didn't come out. Next time I will cut wax paper or parchment paper to line the pans. I'm sure I'll be making this for my friend again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Follow the directions exactly, and this cake will turn out perfectly! We used a 9x13 pan and topped the batter with fresh peach slices before baking. After the cake cooled, we served it with vanilla ice cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eat2live

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I am sorry to say I truly couldn't eat this cake. It was awful. Not only did it taste nothing like a cake, the cake had fallen and all the batter moved to the edges. All I could taste was eggs and grease. I followed the directions precisely. Just not good. Of course, I enjoy the boxed cake mixes so maybe it is just me. (I have made other cakes from scratch and enjoyed them though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Perfect moist and tasty cake every time. My new go to recipe for yellow cake. I love it family and friends love it. I can't say enough about it. Follow directions people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I love baking, but I normally used a cake mix for yellow cakes. Scratch yellow cakes seem to be so easy to dry out! This cake however was absolutely wonderful! I followed the directions for the cake exactly and filled it with a strawberry filling and frosted it with buttercream icing. It was delicious - and everyone said it was the best yellow cake they ever had! It does take longer than a cake mix, but it is well worth it. One note - make sure to use room temperature ingredients, alternate mixing in liquid and dry ingredients and DON'T overmix. Overmixing is one of the biggest culprits of a dry cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and it turned out to be a very moist and tasty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,027) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States