David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I'm a reasonably good baker, but for some reason, I can't ever get cakes quite right - particularly white or yellow cakes. But this was a rare success! It's moist and rich and tender and will be my 'go to' standard cake recipe from now on. Thanks very much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was amazing. Very moist and great flavor. I made a caramel frosting to go with it. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This baked up into a respectable cake. It is quite yellow, as promised, because of all those yolks. However, what I learned is that there is something very positive to be said of cakes that also utilize whole eggs. That something is lightness. Although these layers were quite moist and tender as promised, the crumb was dense. I prefer a less heavy, more feathery cake. Not only is this possible, it is relatively easy to achieve. A superior recipe to this one is Yellow Clooney Cake on this website. If you try them both, I'm confident you'll agree. All in all, this is a reasonable option that won't undermine your reputation for baking prowess. It's just not, however, as close to my ideal as the recipe mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
It is wonderful! Being it is apple season I added sliced apples on the bottom of the pan with melted butter, brown sugar and cinnamon. It was one of the best apple cakes I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This is a great and simple recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, but I had to sub in AP for cake flour. For every cup of AP, I took away 2tbs of flour and added 2tbs of corn starch. I would have preferred cake flour, but didn't have any on hand. I also used a whisk to slowly stir in the flour/milk towards the end. Overall, this is a perfect recipe. It's the right amount of sugar, it is moist, and it's the right consistency for a cake. Not at all like a box cake, with which I am very familiar. Thanks, David!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Came out fine, may use it again. I did use 4 whole eggs and had only AP flour so I did the cornstarch substitution mentioned by others. All my cold ingredients reached room temp. The cake was dense and sweet. Using all that butter made my arteries quiver and I will probably try doing some alterations with apple sauce in the future. What I heard from my family was: Yum, that was good, Thanks, mom, and from my critically honest friend- is that a different recipe (no praise). She thought I had used a different icing recipe and she didn't ask for seconds. But that might've been because her boyfriend who just lost 34 pounds and who had one bite was with her. I'm hoping there is some left at my mom's so I can try some more today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was delicious! Got rave reviews. I also used the suggested buttercream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
OMG!! This recipe is perfect. So moist and holds nicely. I wanted a natural cake and this is it. I added the 4 yolks and 2 whole eggs like suggested. I tried the recipe also with 8 yolks, it was nice and yellow more dense but still good. I wanted a little more rise the little egg whites helped. So good without frosting !! Thanks for sharing no more artifical additives !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Hello ladies & gent this cake rocks ,I'm a southern cooking Paula Deen kinda gal....and when I tell u this is the best cake evvvver (ever) hands down and SUPER MOIST u can put it on the board... And honey I'm not talkin' Baseball.. I put this recipe on my pineapple upside down cake and it was sooooooo good that I had to make it twice .my family love it u can even add pineapple juice to it with out alterations....cause this is a no fail recipe.... Memphis Loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This review was meant for another cake...sorry my mistake! But I do plan on trying this recipe soon. Please disregard. I made this for my sister's birthday and she loved it! I made it in a 10 inch cast iron skillet and had enough batter left over for 6 upside-down cupcakes. Both the cake and cupcakes turned out beautiful, very nice presentation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,026) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States