David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I'm not sure why people had moisture/textural issues :/ I made the cake for a birthday dinner and it came out super moist and flavorful. Not too sweet. Nice and light. Hands down my go-to yellow cake recipe now (so glad I don't have to use a box anymore)! Will DEF be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
My father-in-law's favorite cake is yellow cake with chocolate frosting, so I made this and topped it with the "Rich Chocolate Frosting" from this site. The cake was amazing. Very moist and so much better than a box mix! This is now my go-to yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Great Recipe! I've been looking for a classic yellow cake for a long time and I cannot believe that it was right here all this time!This has come out prefect every time! Very light, moist and delicious! (The key is creaming the butter and sugar till fluffy and adding the egg one at a time just like you do making cookies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I did not think the flavor was all that great and the texture was dense in a rather unpleasant way. It WAS a little like corn bread! I was very careful to measure and follow all the directions, so I really think the problem was with the recipe. I made sure to not over bake, too. I wouldn't have been voted the Next Great Cake Boss with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have been baking for over 30 years. I have tried many yellow cake recipes and this will replace all of them. The cake was perfect, very moist and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I have tried a few yellow cake recipes but THIS ONE IS THE BEST!! I usually make cupcakes and this recipe was PERFECT!! I took the advice of some of the others that commented on this recipe and I beat the butter and sugar for approximately 6-8 minutes. I also used 4 whole eggs as opposed to 8 egg yolks and the only difference was the color (much lighter shade of yellow). The cupcakes were VERY moist. I used variation of chocolate, butter cream and cream cheese frostings and they all complimented the cup cakes. I also put a squirt of cream cheese filling In the middle.Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe! "DESERT DESSERTS"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Foolproof and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have cake flour so substituted 3/4c all purpose flour and 2T corn starch. Followed advice and made sure and beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Made this for my hubby for his birthday and it was AMAZING!!! Neither of us had ever had non boxed yellow cake before.... And considering yellow cake is his favorite.... This will be made every year for his birthday :) It was very moist and flavorful. I didn't have cake flour so I reduced the flour by 4tbsp (2 per cup) and all turned out well. This will def be my go to cake for parties and what not.... So glad I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,090) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States