David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
It came out really dense and did taste like cornbread in a weird way. It didn't taste like yellow cake I am just guessing but I think its because of the amount of eggs in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabriela
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
The only thing I would add is vanilla sugar, gives it a nice taste. But everyone went crazy over this recipe. So simple and tasty... Very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Just made this last night for an ice cream cake I am making for my son. Being pregnant, I decided to sample a chunk, as who could resist, and omg. The cake practically melted in my mouth it was so moist and delicious. Hope it doesn't dry out in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a very tasty cake! I followed the directions exactly, I just added a couple tablespoons more milk. As long as you follow the directions exactly you will have a delicious MOIST cake. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a wonderful yellow cake recipe. My family raved about it and this my go to yellow cake recipe. Before I made this I had only had box mix yellow cake and didn't really like it because the flavor was so blah. Not this recipe! I followed the directions exactly and watched the timing closely. It came out moist, rich and flavorful. Definitely not cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Followed directions turned out wonderful! I did make a mistake by using a dark pan and not adjusting the heat down a bit. SO thats on me. It came out a bit dryer than I would have liked but like I said, on me. Its IMPORTANT to use cake flour and NOT OVER BEAT!! Good job David!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I love this cake recipe. My friend and I made it, and it was DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I'm usually a scratch pound cake person, but I decided I needed to branch out and do something I little different. So, I selected this for a birthday cake and it was great. I'm not a pro baker by any means so I followed the receipe exactly and took the most common advise I saw in the comments and it turned out great! I think I left it in the oven a couple minutes too long, but that's user error, not the receipe. This will become a permanent recipe I'll use going forward. TRY IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I'm not sure why people had moisture/textural issues :/ I made the cake for a birthday dinner and it came out super moist and flavorful. Not too sweet. Nice and light. Hands down my go-to yellow cake recipe now (so glad I don't have to use a box anymore)! Will DEF be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
My father-in-law's favorite cake is yellow cake with chocolate frosting, so I made this and topped it with the "Rich Chocolate Frosting" from this site. The cake was amazing. Very moist and so much better than a box mix! This is now my go-to yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,098) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States