David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was pretty much a fail. The cake completely fell. The taste of the cake was great, but for some reason it fell. We baked a chocolate cake in the other oven while this one was baking, and that came out perfect. Not likely to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I followed this recipe to the letter and it came out like a Starbucks cake pop but dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This worked out great for me, even though I didn't have any cake flour it still turned out really fluffy and moist. I am definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaKirby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Best yellow cake I have made. Blows the cake mix junk out of the water! Its moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I have searched many years for the perfect yellow cake recipe and I finally found it! This is the best yellow cake recipe! It comes out perfect and flavorful every time. I now use the same recipe for my basic muffin batter, but I replace cake flour with all purpose to yield a more dense consistency. This should be everyone's go to recipe for yellow cake from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Came out extremely thick and flavorless. The only thing that saved it was the frosting that I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I had a 4 year old chatting at me the whole time, I did some steps backward on accident, and this cake turned out perfect and tastes absolutely amazing! I can eat it without icing it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Superduberbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
A very good recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Great recipe, especially when made exactly as written. Moist, so much more delicious than box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Delicious! This cake was super easy to make and tastes great. I had no problem with texture or flavor. The 8 egg yolks worried me, but I followed the recipe exactly as written and was not disappointed. As others have stated, make sure you really cream the butter/sugar together (and it goes without saying, use REAL butter). Eggs/butter should be brought down to room temp naturally for best results (I throw them on the counter a couple of hours before I start baking). I used a hand-mixer for butter/sugar, then to add in the eggs/vanilla. Once it's super creamy, I then added the flour and milk (alternating, starting/ending with flour) and mixed it in by hand - not beaters. Don't overcook the cake (stab with fork, if a few crumbs come off on the fork, it's ready - if it comes out clean, probably overcooked, cook it less next time). This is going to be my go-to yellow cake from now on for sure! I love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,046) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States