David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This recipe is a keeper! I have tried several different cake recipes and have never been successful . They are either too dense or too dry. This cake turned out great! My husband loved his birthday cake and my kids were impressed that I made it from scratch. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made this cake exactly as the recipe states for cupcakes. It was wonderful! The cupcakes were moist and flavorful. This recipe is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I wished I would have paid more attention to the negative reviews. This cake was sooo dry. So close to cornbread just like other reviews mentioned. I was so bummed. I am not the best baker so I wouldn't even know what to add or delete to make this recipe better. Even though the cake was not a huge hit, I would still choose this cake over a store bought cake filled with ingredients you cannot pronounce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This cake was easy to make - However, it does get dry fast so ideally you should plan to eat this at the event you make for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
My auntie is an amazing cook/baker. She doesn't like yellow cake or sweets that much, but she LOVED this. I made substitutions based off Theresa's review, so I used 1 1/4c. buttermilk instead of milk, and used 5 eggs total, 3 eggs + 2 egg yolks only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly, and it baked up very moist, tender, and sweet. I usually do not enjoy yellow cake, because it is so often dry, but this was very tender and delicious. One of the other posters was correct - this cake does have an eggy, almost custard-like taste while it's warm, but that egg taste does dissipate once it's cooled. I was a bit concerned when I tasted the toothpick I had used to test the center. It tasted like a custard to me. But I had read that the egg flavor goes away, and so it did. You do not need to adjust the amount of egg yolks, because that is what gives it that yellow color and tender crumb. Don't over bake it, let it cool completely, and that custard flavor will mellow. It is important to periodically test with a toothpick; the spring test is not reliable. There should be moist crumbs clinging to the toothpick. If it comes out wet, give it a few more minutes and test again. If it comes out perfectly clean, it is overdone and will be dry. If there are still moist crumbs clinging, it's perfect. One more thing is that I would recommend adding a circle of parchment paper, greased and floured, to the bottom of the pan to encourage quick release. It is VERY important to grease and flour the pan, and a good idea to add that parchment circle, as the cake is so tender that it will fall apart if it sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is so good that I've erased several sentences to find the perfect beginning to my review... I really don't know how to start other than to say that this really is the cake that birthday dreams are made of. I have been looking, experimenting, and researching for many years to find the perfect yellow cake, and it was this simple the whole time. This is absolutely the best cake I've ever tasted (let alone made), and that's coming from a professional baker with a healthy obsession with cake. I'm taking the time to write this review because I feel that the recipe deserves it, and other people doing their research (as I was) might benefit from it. If you are having trouble with this recipe, just remember that EVERYTHING matters when it comes to baking. No substitutions or shortcuts will get you the right result. The butter and sugar should be beaten until the mixture looks almost white and fluffier than whipped icing (this takes at least 5 minutes on medium-high speed on a stand mixer; don't worry, your patience will pay off). The flour must be sifted, and all-purpose flour will NOT work the same as cake flour. If care is taken to follow all instructions exactly, this cake will not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Perfect...just follow the directions...used my farm fresh egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Strawberry Cake Variation: omit vanilla extract and add 4 tsp. strawberry extract and a few drops of red food coloring to make a light pink color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Roe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe because I made an angle food cake and had all these yolks left. The cake turned out really great. It was fluffy, moist and light as a feather also tasted wonderful. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,014) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States