David's Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Just made this recipe and it was AMAZING! Followed directions exactly for batter but made cupcakes. They baked for about 20 minutes. My 3 year old who usually only licks the frosting off of cake ate 2 of them before we could even frost them. I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jae
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I recently made this cake. It was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I just made this recipe and here's MY opinion of it. First off it made one 9.5" and three 6" round cakes. I used butter instead of shortening (as there's a version of this same recipe that calls for butter in lieu of shortening) and I followed everything else to a T! I do like the recipe as my cakes came out fluffy and moist! The one thing that I find is, the cake could be a little sweeter. I am a cake baker/decorator for many years now and I think I'm going to start using this recipe (+ an additional 1/2c sugar) as the base for my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iLove2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Turned out FANTASTIC! I used a cream cheese frosting on top and it was amazing, eaten by the family in just one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Best cake recipe EVER!! Thank you thank you thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
The ONLY reason I am giving this cake recipe four stars instead of five is due to my modification of the recipe. I did not want to waste eight egg whites. I wouldn't have used them for anything, so I decided to substitute four duck eggs for the eight egg yolks. Cake turned out amazing. It's very sweet and moist. Will definitely use this recipe over and over, with the simple egg switch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celena White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Dave, You promised a moist cake and you did not disappoint. Hands down the best yellow cake recipe I have encountered. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This cake is awesome! Iit is a foolproof recipe. I think it is key cream together the butter and sugar very well. It may take 5 minutes for it to get light and fluffy. I also used for whole eggs as another reviewer said and it turned out perfect. I think if you don't like this recipe you have done something wrong. I added a thin layer of raspberry jam in between each layer of cake and it was awesome! Everyone at my daughters 1st birthday love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera Byard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was my first time ever baking a cake from scratch. Followed the recipe and nailed it! Super moist. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,024) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States