David's Secret Ingredient Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This recipe is mere perfection! Sad enough I did not have rice cereal mentioned. I used Dora Explore cereal. I blended it into a powder; then ran it through a sifter. I added 1 cup more cereal than mentioned. + added 1T more vanilla. And i only had white chocolate chips. If only I had the proper cereal!! You should put these on the market!! I can't wait to make them again. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
If you like crispy outside ,and soft ,slightly chewy inside kinda cookie, you'll definitely gonna love this one. These are really goooood! The only thing I change is the amount of white sugar .. I reduced it to 2/4 cup instead of 3. I couldn't stop eating them. It was a BIG hit at my 9year old son's class party! Thank you JDSIMON for making my son very popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Just made these....so yummy. They were a little flat for my taste but the flavor was good. I also added more crispy rice as someone else suggested; however, that just made the cookies have chewy (and not the good kind) of texture. Oh well, I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Made according to recipe - oh so good!! I HIGHLY recommend this recipe!! But... I was jonesing for really chocolaty choc choc chip cookies. So, I used "Cocoa Crispees" and added 1/2C "Hershey's Special Dark" cocoa powder. I only had dark brown sugar so I omitted the white sugar and doubled the brown sugar... and only had butter-flavored shortening (no unsalted butter for baking) so I used 1C shortening w/o added water. I also tripled the vanilla - 1tbl. I do this standard. The Cookies are sooooooo good! I rolled 1 tbl+/- balls in powdered sugar and placed them onto an ungreased cookie sheet, baked for 5 min rotated and baked for 5 more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I also ad the tsp of baking powder. Always get compliments when making these cookies. And a bunch cheaper then buying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Different but I liked them. I kept thinking there were itty bitty teeny tiny bits of toffee in the cookies. I did go scant on sugar and 1.5 of chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Delicious as is! I love to freeze the dough, the cut off a few pieces and bake for dessert. These are my new go to CC cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I was going to give this 1 star, but my husband ate one and asked what the big problem was. I've never made cookies and thrown away raw dough, but I did on this recipe. The texture is not enjoyable (and I bake other cookie recipes with rice krispies in them), and they flattened out despite several efforts to keep them from doing so. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Craig, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Great! These are fabulous, however I did make a few changes. I added chopped dark chocolate chunks and instead of using a food processor I used potato masher for the cereal! I wanted some chunky pieces in the cookies. I also added more than a cup of rice crispies, in fact I used most of it. They were fabulous! I also like my cookies a bit saltier, so I tend to increase the salt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicity

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
We have been adding rice cereal to our tollhouse cookies for my entire life (>30 years) but we don't crush them - leaving them whole makes for a great cookie crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States