Dave's Mocha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Delish!!! I was somewhat hesitant to make this, as there were (are) no other reviews to go on. Boy, am I glad I tried it!! This chicken was awesome....very, very flavorful. I chose to use two chicken breasts instead which worked well! Thanks for the recipe, Dave - it'll be made often at this house! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
I'm so glad that I decided to try this, despite the fact that there was only one review. It was fantastic! I loved how the sauce thickened as it simmered, and it tasted great over rice. Next time I'll try this with chicken breasts, but I think it would be fabulous as a sauce for chicken wings, given how thick and caramelized the dish becomes. Thanks for sharing, Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Loved it! Made double the amount of chicken but did not double the marinade. Took it to a pot luck and it was a hit. Thanks Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
My husband and I were unanimous aboout a 5-star rating for this recipe. I only made a couple of small changes: I added about a teaspoon of dark cocoa powder and a few dashes of cayenne pepper. I also cooked it in a slow cooker and then put it in the oven (400 deg F) for about 15 minutes to glaze the skin. It was super tasty with rice and steamed broccoli and carrots, topped with leftover sauce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Quote from my daughter: "mom, please tell Dave that his chicken is amazing!" Not only did she love it, but so did everyone else. The only thing I did a little differently was the cooking method. I browned the chix on top of the stove, but then finished it off in the oven. I also added some garlic and onion powders to the marinade. The chicken was so moist and flavorful and the sauce was incredible. Thanks so much Dave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
My son and my boyfriend are tough critics. They rate my meals on a scale of 1-10. Nothing EVER gets a 10 (just to keep me hopping). This chicken dish got a 9 3/4! The chicken was tender and full of flavor. Definitely one we'll remake and serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Terrific. I used skinless drumsticks but otherwise didn't change a thing and the recipe worked out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
super yum!! with white rice and broccoli. Something new and different. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamadeleau
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This chicken is the "bomb". I am seriously breaking my diet given the 730 calories per serving but if I have to break it this is the way I want to do it! I modified the recipe a little using red pepper flakes(I hate black pepper) and some sweet peppers when I was simmering the chicken(I love sweet peppers). I also cooked it a little longer than the recipe called for(I like my chicken really tender). But still...this chicken is the bomb, really!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I've made this every week for the past three weeks. We all LOVE it! The only thing I do differently now is to add 1/2 a tablespoon of powdered cocoa and two minced garlic cloves to the marinade. After cooking as directed, we finish it off on an outdoor grill for three minutes per side. The grill adds a yummy smokiness to the already dark, rich flavor. Tnanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States