Dave's Mocha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Quote from my daughter: "mom, please tell Dave that his chicken is amazing!" Not only did she love it, but so did everyone else. The only thing I did a little differently was the cooking method. I browned the chix on top of the stove, but then finished it off in the oven. I also added some garlic and onion powders to the marinade. The chicken was so moist and flavorful and the sauce was incredible. Thanks so much Dave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
I'm so glad that I decided to try this, despite the fact that there was only one review. It was fantastic! I loved how the sauce thickened as it simmered, and it tasted great over rice. Next time I'll try this with chicken breasts, but I think it would be fabulous as a sauce for chicken wings, given how thick and caramelized the dish becomes. Thanks for sharing, Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I needed something simple for dinner that used chicken. I didn't have sherry, so I used red wine like one of the other reviewers did. I also added almost a full tsp. of ginger. I switched the measurements of the coffee and soy sauce to lower the salt a bit. It's marinating right now, but I'll update on how it turned out. EDITED: I'm glad I switched the coffee and soy sauce. It would have been too salty if I hadn't. The ginger was a nice touch. I'd make this again, only I might add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Delish!!! I was somewhat hesitant to make this, as there were (are) no other reviews to go on. Boy, am I glad I tried it!! This chicken was awesome....very, very flavorful. I chose to use two chicken breasts instead which worked well! Thanks for the recipe, Dave - it'll be made often at this house! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
My husband and I were unanimous aboout a 5-star rating for this recipe. I only made a couple of small changes: I added about a teaspoon of dark cocoa powder and a few dashes of cayenne pepper. I also cooked it in a slow cooker and then put it in the oven (400 deg F) for about 15 minutes to glaze the skin. It was super tasty with rice and steamed broccoli and carrots, topped with leftover sauce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I thought this recipe was great! I didn't have sherry so I used marsala wine and I also added a little bit of honey (2 TBsp). I thought it was great. I took some sauce from the pan for my kids to "dip" it in and they loved it! Next time I might try using boneless skinless breasts so it doesn't give us sticky fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca M
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I didn't have any sherry on-hand, so I just left it out, adding a little chicken stock to the pan when simmering to make up the liquid measure. As a note, allow an hour to cook the chicken thoroughly - 35min is not long enough! In the end, the taste was deep and rich, but was missing a certain... sweetness, I think? Perhaps the sherry was vital to the recipe, I wouldn't recommend leaving it out (maybe more brown sugar, or another sweet sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I think the name of the recipe is misleading and so people are afraid to try it. My boyfriend couldn't even tell there was coffee in the recipe yet it added the richness to the flavour. It was surprisingly good though it didn't look like it would be once it was finished cooking. The flavour reminded me of a szechuan dish but with chicken rather than pork. Worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Loved it! Made double the amount of chicken but did not double the marinade. Took it to a pot luck and it was a hit. Thanks Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was SOOOO good. I did not use chicken legs but chicken breasts. I pierced the chicken breasts with a fork to allow marinade to penetrate into the poultry. Wow! This recipe is a keeper. Careful tho' not to overcook the chicken - 30 minutes may be a bit too long - mine was done after 20 minutes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States