Dave's Mocha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Delish!!! I was somewhat hesitant to make this, as there were (are) no other reviews to go on. Boy, am I glad I tried it!! This chicken was awesome....very, very flavorful. I chose to use two chicken breasts instead which worked well! Thanks for the recipe, Dave - it'll be made often at this house! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
I'm so glad that I decided to try this, despite the fact that there was only one review. It was fantastic! I loved how the sauce thickened as it simmered, and it tasted great over rice. Next time I'll try this with chicken breasts, but I think it would be fabulous as a sauce for chicken wings, given how thick and caramelized the dish becomes. Thanks for sharing, Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Loved it! Made double the amount of chicken but did not double the marinade. Took it to a pot luck and it was a hit. Thanks Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
My son and my boyfriend are tough critics. They rate my meals on a scale of 1-10. Nothing EVER gets a 10 (just to keep me hopping). This chicken dish got a 9 3/4! The chicken was tender and full of flavor. Definitely one we'll remake and serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Terrific. I used skinless drumsticks but otherwise didn't change a thing and the recipe worked out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I think the name of the recipe is misleading and so people are afraid to try it. My boyfriend couldn't even tell there was coffee in the recipe yet it added the richness to the flavour. It was surprisingly good though it didn't look like it would be once it was finished cooking. The flavour reminded me of a szechuan dish but with chicken rather than pork. Worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
My husband and I found this dish to be just okay (edible). However, it is simple and kid friendly. Imagine teriyaki minus the grill or broiler, garlic, and ginger ~ unsophisticated. It’s true, you really don’t taste the coffee. However, the rather pronounced flavor of the sherry screams for lots of steamed rice and broccoli. Don’t be tempted to skip cooking the marinade on the side prior to adding it to the browned chicken. You must cook it separately in order to skim the surface. Once the marinade/sauce thickens, it does glaze the chicken for a beautiful presentation. However due to a lack of alluring flavors, this dish will not show up on my table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
super yum!! with white rice and broccoli. Something new and different. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
At first I thought that OJAGAJ's review was too harsh, in view of the other more enthusiastic reviews. Now that I made this recipe,I have to agree. Ultimately, the flavor was mostly salty/soy sauce. I detected nothing from the coffee. I could never get the sauce to thicken or glaze. Overall, it tasted okay but it wasn't a unique change from many other similar Chinese chicken recipes I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamadeleau
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This chicken is the "bomb". I am seriously breaking my diet given the 730 calories per serving but if I have to break it this is the way I want to do it! I modified the recipe a little using red pepper flakes(I hate black pepper) and some sweet peppers when I was simmering the chicken(I love sweet peppers). I also cooked it a little longer than the recipe called for(I like my chicken really tender). But still...this chicken is the bomb, really!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States