Dave's Mocha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Superb! I had to go out, so finished the chicken in a 300 degree oven for one hour - when I came home it just fell off the bone. The sauce didn't thicken up though, because the fat from the chicken mixed in with it - not good for you, but boy oh boy was it good over rice! I added two crushed garlic cloves to the marinade- a must have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by legof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Outstanding! I removed the skin from the chicken legs to reduce the fat content. Otherwise, I stuck to the recipe. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I cooked exactly the same as the recipe says. Somehow the sauce didn't really thickened. Maybe I did something wrong, but the taste was great! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I made this this morning for a pot luck, after leaving the drumsticks in the marinade overnight (in the cold garage). I followed the recipe, exactly, only adding a little garlic powder. I had 17 drumsticks so I increased the recipe only a little, proportionately. They were gobbled up with 2 recipe requests. I found that they required almost an hour to cook and the marinade reduced down nicely. I switched them into a slow cooker to keep warm. They were nicely glazed and didn't require any of the remaining marinade to be added to the slow cooker. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
we will have to skin chicken next time or decrease oil to almost nothing, too greasy with the skin and all of the oil. double the sauce and added 1 t onion powder and 2 minced cloves of garlic. We browned on the stove and then baked at 350 for about 45 minutes covered and 15 monutes uncovered, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I needed something simple for dinner that used chicken. I didn't have sherry, so I used red wine like one of the other reviewers did. I also added almost a full tsp. of ginger. I switched the measurements of the coffee and soy sauce to lower the salt a bit. It's marinating right now, but I'll update on how it turned out. EDITED: I'm glad I switched the coffee and soy sauce. It would have been too salty if I hadn't. The ginger was a nice touch. I'd make this again, only I might add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I made this last night & it was a hit with hubby, the kids and their friends. It's very easy on the wallet, and tasty. It took MUCH longer than 35 minutes to cook, and next time I'll try baking it rather than pan frying. I will also try a lower sodium soy sauce. Overall a very good recipe. Thanks Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Loved the taste of this chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Durkee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA
Living In: Stetson, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
It looked really good when it was all finished, but tasted wayyyy too salty, I could hardly eat it. It may have been the kind of soy sauce I used, but it was just normal sauce... i'll use low sodium next time and less, also something sweet added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I wasn't sure about this because of the mocha in the name of the recipe. After reading the reviews, I am glad I gave it a chance. This is fantastic. We will make this again for sure. Chicken is extremely tender, it has a nice sweet marinade taste to it. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States