Dave's Mocha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This had a good flavor, but I was really hoping that the consistency would be syrupy & stick to the chicken. My broth was just really loose & watery, so I was a bit disappointed. I did however switch from legs to breasts because my husband doesn't care for chicken on the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Awesome!! I substituted red wine for the sherry since i didn't have it and it all came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made a few changes though. I did not have sherry so I substituted it with red wine vinegar. I also used about 1/4 cup of molasses as well. I simmered the chicken legs for about an hour. Then I took out the chicken legs, let them cool and then deboned, skinned and then broke apart the chicken. As I was doing this I added about 2 tbsp of dissolved corn starch to the sauce and brought to a boil for a few more minutes. I had a bed of white rice, chopped chicken and then brocolli...added a few spoonfuls of the sauce and viola :) It was more of an asian style dinner and I watched happily as my 20 month old stuffed brocolli in his mouth! That right there makes this recipe 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Made two different chicken recipes with a large pack of chicken legs I had onhand. The other one (simply using crushed stuffing mix to coat the chicken that was dredged in olive oil) was the better of the two. This was decent, but a little too different tasting for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I thought this was okay. I used boneless chicken breasts, cut in pieces, which reduced the cooking time. My only other change was to cut the oil in half after reading so many reviews about the sauce being too thin. It did caramelize nicely on the chicken and the flavor was good *at first* but then, the more I ate, the more I felt like the soy sauce taste was just too much. It had a definite teriyaki-like flavor and my guys all liked it but I probably won't make it again unless its requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
too much soy sauce, it overpowered the chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Cut up a whole chicken, skinned & put in crockpot. Was pretty good, but didn't really need the oil. I also cut back the soy sauce to 1/4 c. since others said it was salty otherwise. Sprinkled in some onion and garlic powders and a little crushed red pepper flakes. Would eat again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
this recipe was way to salty and I used low sodium soy. would not make again unless someone comes up with a way to cut the salty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Boy was I surprised at how GOOD this was. We used every last bit of the juice/liquid to put on our rice. So simple, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
We used low sodium soy sauce for the first time ever on this recipe and it still was salty enough - would not recommend using regular soy sauce as I think it would be too salty then. We covered the chicken and should not have; the sauce never thickened up. Will make again, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States