Dave's Mocha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I am making this tonight so I wont rate it yet. I have shared it with FaceBook friends and some have saved it to try too....looks great at the top of my page!! Curious why it attracts the opposite though...lol!!! Ok...I gotta put a star to post so Im giving it the benefit of the doubt.....for 5!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I was really looking forward to this. Way too salty. I think if you cut down on the soy sauce, or use light soy sauce, the other flavors will come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This chicken is the best meal I have had in a while! My boyfriend loved it too! Pops with flavor and the house fills with great aroma while cooking! I added some garlic powder and a teaspoon of cocoa and used white wine in place of sherry. So GOOD!! I served with rice and brocolli and drizzeled sauce over all. I will try this with wings sometime soon! Thanks Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I really thought this was going to have a n overbearing flavor but was pleasantly surprised when I tasted it..IT IS GREAT and mild in flavor. I used Marsella cooking wine...I will make this again and again...THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
The taste of the sauce that is created by this recipe is really delicious and unique. I did switch the quantities of soy sauce and coffee. Also, simmering the chicken thighs for a half an hour is not enough time to cook them. I had to simmer them for a half an hour and then cook them in the oven for twenty minutes. But by the time they were done, there was this very rich thick sauce covering the chicken. I think this recipe would also work with chicken breasts and would probably be easier to eat, because the drumsticks can get messy (mine did).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This is one of my favorite chicken recipes. I change it a little to fit what I normally have at home, but nothing drastic. I use manischewitz red wine in place of cooking sherry, I use low sodium soy sauce, and I never use as much oil as it calls for (I mostly cook without oil and butter). I like cooking it in the crock pot too, after coating the chicken in flour (to thicken the sauce a little). I normally add garlic too, since my boyfriend likes garlic in everything. Then I normally just serve it with rice and put the extra sauce on top. Whenever I make a side of vegetables with it, they never get eaten because the sauce is so good that we have seconds and thirds of the chicken and rice instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This has become a family fave and the kids LOVE it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My non-coffee-loving family really enjoyed this. I made it as written and it was not too salty as others complained. Served with rice and devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I served this over rice, and it was good. I thought that it was a little too salty so it may be a good idea to use the reduced sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Loved this recipe!! Was a little worried about the amount of soy sauce, so put in a little less and a bit more coffee. I didn't have sherry, so gave it a shot of whisky...not really the same, but the basic recipe idea is fantastic!Everyone loved it!! I also browned the chicken in a pan, then finished the legs in the oven, without the marinade. I simmered the marinade down to about half, then thickened it with a knob of butter ( didn't use oil) then poured it over the chicken before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ida vB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States