Dave's Mocha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
My whole family loves this! It's a little messy to eat, but my toddler devours it. I use low sodium soy sauce to cut down on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clear Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I liked this recipe for sure and my family ate it all up each time I have made it. That being said, I do not think the coffee flavour is identifiable at all with the soy sauce overpowering it. I'd say just omit it as unnecessary. The other thing I have done is to cook the chicken in the sauce on the stovetop. The whole separate marinade from meat and cook spearately and then cook together was just cumbersome. It gives the sauce a longer cooking time which turns it into a nice syrupy consistency and sticks to the chicken well, and it also keeps the chicken moist so you can use white chicken or skinless as well and get fantastic results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I had a hard time getting the sauce to form a glaze so it turned out a little too runny for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
was pretty good, did have a "teryaki type" flavor. Was extremely messy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
tasted like teriyaki chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe with various changes made by other reviewers. I doubled the marinade as I was using both legs and thighs. Switched the soy sauce and coffee amounts; this being said I used instant espresso powder in water since I don't have strong-brewed coffee. I used half brown sugar and half regular because I didn't have enough; believe the regular made the dish a little too sweet. Reducing the sugar wouldn't hurt either. I don't buy cooking sherry because of its salt content and simply because we only cook with what my fiance will drink. I did have Marsala leftover from a previous recipe so I used that instead. Added ginger and garlic powder, however you could taste neither of them. Fresh minced is probably a better option, or use more of the two dried. Also added cayenne, but it wasn't enough heat for me; will use more next time. Cocoa powder was another addition, sort of like a Mexican-chocolate approach... Didn't do much for the dish, will omit it. Olive oil was also unnecessary in the marinade... End result was too oily. It can be kept in the recipe in a lesser amount to use when cooking the chicken. I marinated the chicken pieces overnight, shaking them up every so often. I chose a different cooking method. Since I rarely cook my chicken entirely on the stove, I opted for browning them on all sides and cooking them in a preheated 350F oven (with the marinade) for an hour. Will keep them skin-up next time to be crispier. Sauce didn't thicken at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I am making this tonight so I wont rate it yet. I have shared it with FaceBook friends and some have saved it to try too....looks great at the top of my page!! Curious why it attracts the opposite though...lol!!! Ok...I gotta put a star to post so Im giving it the benefit of the doubt.....for 5!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I was really looking forward to this. Way too salty. I think if you cut down on the soy sauce, or use light soy sauce, the other flavors will come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This chicken is the best meal I have had in a while! My boyfriend loved it too! Pops with flavor and the house fills with great aroma while cooking! I added some garlic powder and a teaspoon of cocoa and used white wine in place of sherry. So GOOD!! I served with rice and brocolli and drizzeled sauce over all. I will try this with wings sometime soon! Thanks Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States