Dave's Mocha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Great marinade on the chicken. Mine turned out just perfect! My husband loved it also! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quixotic Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Ridge, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was SOOOO good. I did not use chicken legs but chicken breasts. I pierced the chicken breasts with a fork to allow marinade to penetrate into the poultry. Wow! This recipe is a keeper. Careful tho' not to overcook the chicken - 30 minutes may be a bit too long - mine was done after 20 minutes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I thought I followed this recipe exactly but for some reason it turned out VERY salty. I added water, more wine and some vinegar to cut the salt. My family liked the chicken but the sauce itself was too salty to put on top. I will make again and cut down on the soy sauce portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
It has a unique taste and no one was able to guess that it was coffee based. I would make it again, but it's not a new favorite. I switched the amount of soy sauce and coffee like other reviewers recommended. I removed the chicken skin and placed in a slow cooker for 6 hours on low. The sauce did not thicken in the slow cooker, so I transferred it to a pan and boiled for 30 minutes; minimal thickening achieved. The sauce was tasty, and I think I will use it in the future to baste some grilled or broiled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Yummy! Great flavor Dave! I couldn't taste the coffee. It reminded me of a mild teriyaki. No leftovers from this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
My Dad used to slow simmer chicken legs in a bottled terriyaki sauce that I loved! They stopped making it years ago, and I have never been able to get close to it. This was just a little butter away! My husband and daughter both loved it, and I will most certainly be making it again- with some butter to replace the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gas City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
The family seemed to really like the chicken flavor, we couldnt use the sauce as much because it was way too salty. I would cut down on the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dedserious

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Super easy to make!!! I substituted half of the soy sauce for tereyaki sauce, and it was just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was some the best chicken I've ever made! I took the advice of others and switched the soy sauce and coffee measrements. I also added grated garlic and ginger into the marinade and used red wine instead of cooking sherry. It turned out fantastic. I think next time I may try this marinade with chicken breast or tenderloins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDACENC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I also went with 1/4c soy sauce and 2/3c coffee. I used dry sherry instead of cooking sherry. I also used two chicken breasts instead of the legs, and used a minimum of oil in the pan (and I'd go no oil in the marinade next time). I added about a teaspoon of minced garlic and a couple dashes of cayenne pepper to the marinade. I had some trouble thickening the sauce (even with cornstarch, but I was conservative), but after it was cool it was nice and thick. The flavor itself was great, and I'll certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States