Dave's Mocha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe was AMAZING! I was a bit skeptical. I mean, who ever heard of using coffee to make chicken? But it sounded intriguing, and I'm always up for new things, so I made it for my husband and I. We both loved it. The chicken was the most tender I've ever had, and the flavour was just... delicious, for lack of a better word. I admit to adding extra brown sugar, because I like sweet things, but WOW! What an idea! I'll have to try it with chicken breast so the rest of my family will try it. Thanks for the awesome recipe! Oh yeah, and I used regular red cooking wine because we don't have sherry. Still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I usually use this site as a spring board for ideas and this was great. I made skinned thighs and skinon drumsticks.omitted olive oil completely but sprinkled thighs with sesame oil. Added real cocoa and 3 cl minced garlic some grated ginger. Used some good red wine instead of sherry pinch of cayenne.i cooked in roaster basting often and then finished off on barbecue.the sauce I thicken up with corn starch slurry. Oh I added teaspoon instant coffee to my brewed to achieve nice strong taste. Loved the idea Dave thanks! Crowd loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Northernmaiden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crossfield, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I used five boneless, skinless halves. Meant to add 1/8t cayenne to the marinade, but forgot so added it to the marinade after boiling it. Oh, subbed marsala for the sherry. This is teriyaki chicken. It's teriyaki chicken. 'More suited to people who like sweet chicken. No, not crazy sweet; but "teriyaki" covers it. No, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Unfortunately, a "no-go" for us. :( Really thought it sounded good, but while the sauce was heating, it smelled unappealing. The color was very dark brown, almost black and smelled like something "burnt"...like tabacco. Not appealing at all. After the sauce was done, the flavor tamed down and wasn't too bad on the chicken...just not great. The sherry made a very strong alcohol flavor and the coffee did not seem to complement this recipe. The first thing my Hubby said to me when he took his first bite..."This has alcohol in it.(?)...Not what I was aiming for in taste...and I will keep my "coffee" in my morning mug,lol. Sorry Dave...two stars for the creativity and uniqueness in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I really liked this and so did my hubby. :) I used 1lb. chicken breast since I didn't have chicken legs. I decreased the soy sauce to 1/2 c. and added a tsp. cocoa powder and a tsp. ginger paste and sprinkled garlic powder in before whisking all together. I ended up using a crockpot on Low for 6 hours for this recipe. I set the chicken in the bottom and poured the marinade mixture over top of it. We had leftover Asian vegetables that got added in the mix in the last few hours. The chicken easily shredded in the marinade with the veggies and it all tasted awesome scooped over steaming brown rice. YUM! Next time, I'll try it without the crockpot - prep time was a factor on this first try. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celestine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harbor Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
OMG! I made one or two changes. I added double the coffee and cooked the chicken in a dutch oven with sauce until it became thick. This will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Not one of my favorites, but definitely something different. I was hesitant about the coffee, but it worked really well and the final product looked super yummy. I tried it with boneless chicken the second time, and it wasn't as good as bone-in. I will make this every once in awhile for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Wow.. this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I'm only giving this 4 stars because husband said it was just "okay." That said, I thought it was good enough to make again, using some of the tweaks that other cooks have suggested. I used b/s chicken breasts, REAL sherry (ever tasted any "cooking" wine? Naaasty!), and instant espresso powder dissolved in water. After browning the chicken and adding the boiling marinade, it only took about 20 minutes to cook, and the sauce never really did thicken up. I think that swapping the amounts of soy and coffee, adding garlic, omitting the oil and addding unsweetened chocolate and/or cocoa powder are good tips. Definitely a recipe to have fun with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States