Dave's Mocha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
My household was divided down the middle on this one! My daughter and I didn't like it at all but my son and husband thought it was great. My main complaint is it was wayyyyy too salty!! I would definitely use a LOW SODIUM soy sauce the next time. However, I loved the rich, glossy, ruddy black 'finish' it gave the chicken. I enjoyed giving it a try though so thank you, Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliosmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Very good! I made this exactly according to the directions, and both my husband and I liked it. You don't really taste the coffee, but I'm not sure I'd want coffee flavored chicken so I think that's a good thing. There was a richness to the sauce that I imagine is due to the coffee even if you don't actually taste it. Even better than the chicken was the brown rice and broccoli I served on the side with some of the marinade spooned on top. Yum, yum! While this is quite good as written, I think in the future I'd add some ginger and garlic, and use chicken breast strips rather than legs. I'd also consider adding some veggies to make this more of a stir fry. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by mamadeleau
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This chicken is the "bomb". I am seriously breaking my diet given the 730 calories per serving but if I have to break it this is the way I want to do it! I modified the recipe a little using red pepper flakes(I hate black pepper) and some sweet peppers when I was simmering the chicken(I love sweet peppers). I also cooked it a little longer than the recipe called for(I like my chicken really tender). But still...this chicken is the bomb, really!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
At first I thought that OJAGAJ's review was too harsh, in view of the other more enthusiastic reviews. Now that I made this recipe,I have to agree. Ultimately, the flavor was mostly salty/soy sauce. I detected nothing from the coffee. I could never get the sauce to thicken or glaze. Overall, it tasted okay but it wasn't a unique change from many other similar Chinese chicken recipes I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
super yum!! with white rice and broccoli. Something new and different. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
My husband and I found this dish to be just okay (edible). However, it is simple and kid friendly. Imagine teriyaki minus the grill or broiler, garlic, and ginger ~ unsophisticated. It’s true, you really don’t taste the coffee. However, the rather pronounced flavor of the sherry screams for lots of steamed rice and broccoli. Don’t be tempted to skip cooking the marinade on the side prior to adding it to the browned chicken. You must cook it separately in order to skim the surface. Once the marinade/sauce thickens, it does glaze the chicken for a beautiful presentation. However due to a lack of alluring flavors, this dish will not show up on my table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I think the name of the recipe is misleading and so people are afraid to try it. My boyfriend couldn't even tell there was coffee in the recipe yet it added the richness to the flavour. It was surprisingly good though it didn't look like it would be once it was finished cooking. The flavour reminded me of a szechuan dish but with chicken rather than pork. Worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Terrific. I used skinless drumsticks but otherwise didn't change a thing and the recipe worked out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
My son and my boyfriend are tough critics. They rate my meals on a scale of 1-10. Nothing EVER gets a 10 (just to keep me hopping). This chicken dish got a 9 3/4! The chicken was tender and full of flavor. Definitely one we'll remake and serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Loved it! Made double the amount of chicken but did not double the marinade. Took it to a pot luck and it was a hit. Thanks Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States