Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Each Summer, our family gets together for this wondeerful Low Country meal. I make cocktail sauce, hushpuppies and cold slaw for 50+ people and they LOVE it. Thank you for putting it in the All Recipes online cookbook. Great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rnewbyus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was a big hit at my house for my son's birthday! we don't have a crab shack around to eat at anymore here in Ohio, so this worked out great! The only thing I did different is cut the recipe in half and it was still alot of food! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Always wins rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was an absolutely easy to follow recipe for those who don't know what they are doing. Though, my potatoes took much longer to cook. Either way, this is how my family has been making boils for as long as I can remember. Super yummy! Absolutely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I was looking forward to this but we felt it lacked flavour. We ever added garlic, bay leaves , lemon and clam juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Oh man, now what good eating. Thanks for this one. The Mrs. and I really enjoyed this one and so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
For shellfish purists there is nothing better than a good old "Boil"! Both the dish's name and a fun family &/or friends event all in itself, a Boil can be anything you want it to be, really. For instance. we enjoy all types of shellfish, so I always throw in a couple different varieties of steamers (clams in the shell...TIP: If the clam shells don't pop open when cooked, do NOT eat them), and I always add extra crab claws since these are a real big favorite. I go a step further by adding lobster claws as well. I prefer to use the Old Bay Seasoning in bags...2 or 3 is about right for a big lobster sized pot, which is about 2 to 3 times larger than the dutch oven size most folks have in their set of cookware. I add a couple of lemons; halved; I give ea half one good squeeze and throw it in the pot. When you're doing corn & potatoes altogether lemon might not be to your liking; it's all about your personal taste. For a big group I put out a good sized sauce pan of drawn (melted clarified) butter, with a gravy ladle and small ramekins for self serve along with a good size dish of lemon wedges. A bottle of tobasco will be welcomed by some, particularly if you're doing crawfish. I usually skip the sausage, as we prefer to grill some brats separately. If you've never done a Boil before, don't worry! Try not to overcook your shellfish; the rest takes care of itself! Let everyone take turns at the ice cream churn for a simple yummy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
One of the best things that I had in a while! Make sure to use the ingredients from tho. Those ones are more accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Made this for my son's 15th birthday dinner, fantastic! I left out the cayenne and wished I hadn't. Will be making again and adding the cayenne :) Used more sausage and less crab leg and shrimp, easier on the pocketbook. Very good and fun famiy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States