Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I would kick up the spices next time. Everything tasted great but lacked a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloeandhunter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
My wife was skeptical of all the great reviews. I managed to talk her into trying it and... Wow! Let me say we all thoroughly enjoyed it. We did about 12 cups of water and 1/4 cup of Old Bay in our 6 quart pot (biggest we had- it worked fine, just be sure and keep an eye on it so it doesn't boil over). I also threw in a little Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning along with the onion and lemon mentioned in previous reviews. We used a pound of sausage, a pound of shrimp, 3 ears of corn cut in half, and six good sized new potatoes. Those ratios came out just perfect for 4 people. We may have overcooked the potatoes slightly but they were still very good. We will definitely be making this again, hopefully with fresh crawfish in there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is such an easy, crowd pleaser. You can easily vary the ingredients and servings. Add one can of a quality ale or lager and you've got the perfect cookout meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe was great. We added a bit more Old Bay after it was said and done and a little salt for the potatoes. Otherwise, it felt like a day at the beach, cooking up the days catch. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
made this recipe last night and it came out amazing!! i followed the tips from other reviewers and i ended up adding 2 lemons, 2 onions,cayenne pepper, cajun seasoning, 3 cloves of garlic and beer. it made everything taste flavorful! -- i think the shrimp got over cooked so next time ill leave it in for only 1- 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Very good shrimp recipe. Easy to fix and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was very good and easy to make! I have always wonder what a boil like this would taste and wasn't let down at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selinna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Delish! After reading some of the reviews here, I decided to add lots more seafood seasoning (Old Bay), Cajun seasoning, Italian seasoning, black pepper and three healthy-sized cloves of fresh/crushed garlic to the boiling water (hence, the four stars and not five). In addition, I cooked the corn on the cobb and potatoes a little longer than the 10 minutes stated in the recipe and added scallops along with the crab legs and shrimp. Wish I had enough $$$ at the time to purchase a bag of fresh mussels to add to the recipe -- that would have made this dish outstanding. In any event, I will make this dish again and again. Thank you Lisa and thank you allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I tried this recipe tonight just to say that we celebrated New Years Eve eating a meal outside of our norm. I stopped short of making myself sick eating this. I didn't do this outside, so I had to split this recipe into two pots. I actually let one of them sit on the stove while we ate the first pot. The items in the second pot had a bit of a kick. I did as some of the other reviewers suggested, and I added 1 lemon(halved), one onion (quartered), and two bay leaves to the pots. It would have probably been good without these additions. Everyone enjoyed it, including my two picky eaters who are 6 and 10. My 12 year old, husband, and I enjoyed that added spiciness in the second pot. This made an awesome New Years Eve dinner and we will have to do this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is really good and easy. I changed the serving size to 8. Cut up the small red potatoes in forths or thirds, depending on size. I didn't have the seasoning so used a crab/shrimp boil in bag package. Melted some butter for the shrimp and crab and done! Wasn't able to cook outside but plan to do that next time. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States