Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is such an easy, crowd pleaser. You can easily vary the ingredients and servings. Add one can of a quality ale or lager and you've got the perfect cookout meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe was great. We added a bit more Old Bay after it was said and done and a little salt for the potatoes. Otherwise, it felt like a day at the beach, cooking up the days catch. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
made this recipe last night and it came out amazing!! i followed the tips from other reviewers and i ended up adding 2 lemons, 2 onions,cayenne pepper, cajun seasoning, 3 cloves of garlic and beer. it made everything taste flavorful! -- i think the shrimp got over cooked so next time ill leave it in for only 1- 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Very good shrimp recipe. Easy to fix and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was very good and easy to make! I have always wonder what a boil like this would taste and wasn't let down at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selinna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Delish! After reading some of the reviews here, I decided to add lots more seafood seasoning (Old Bay), Cajun seasoning, Italian seasoning, black pepper and three healthy-sized cloves of fresh/crushed garlic to the boiling water (hence, the four stars and not five). In addition, I cooked the corn on the cobb and potatoes a little longer than the 10 minutes stated in the recipe and added scallops along with the crab legs and shrimp. Wish I had enough $$$ at the time to purchase a bag of fresh mussels to add to the recipe -- that would have made this dish outstanding. In any event, I will make this dish again and again. Thank you Lisa and thank you allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I tried this recipe tonight just to say that we celebrated New Years Eve eating a meal outside of our norm. I stopped short of making myself sick eating this. I didn't do this outside, so I had to split this recipe into two pots. I actually let one of them sit on the stove while we ate the first pot. The items in the second pot had a bit of a kick. I did as some of the other reviewers suggested, and I added 1 lemon(halved), one onion (quartered), and two bay leaves to the pots. It would have probably been good without these additions. Everyone enjoyed it, including my two picky eaters who are 6 and 10. My 12 year old, husband, and I enjoyed that added spiciness in the second pot. This made an awesome New Years Eve dinner and we will have to do this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is really good and easy. I changed the serving size to 8. Cut up the small red potatoes in forths or thirds, depending on size. I didn't have the seasoning so used a crab/shrimp boil in bag package. Melted some butter for the shrimp and crab and done! Wasn't able to cook outside but plan to do that next time. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Made this tonight for my family, did as others suggested and added the lemon, onions, and a little garlic. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
we eat this frequently- we boil the potatoes first, then corn, then the sausage and last the shrimp. we usually steam the crab separately. after everything is done we drain and put in large bowls and pour melted butter and sprinkle A LOT of Old Bay seasoning on the mixture. serve with tons and tons of napkins. we do triple all the amounts as we feed three hungry teenagers..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States