Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Theresa
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I loooved this recipe! It was so simple, yet incredibly tasty! It is an economical alternative to Joe's Crab Shack's steam pots. I made this for my parents and enjoyed it so much that I hosted a crab dinner for a group of friends the very next weekend. I always add more lemons to the pot and my mom suggested that next time we add clams. I got great feedback from my family and friends who ate until they were stuffed. I definitely recommend this recipe =) I would suggest pairing it with Mexican Bean Salad or a pre-meal Strawberry Spinach Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I feel like I would have been happier with hot dogs and corn on the cob, so it was a lot of work for what it was. The shrimp tasted like nothing-- not even shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Amazing!!!!!! I added extra old bay, vidalia onion, bay leaf and lemon ...everyone was so impressed!!!!!! Also, everything was cooked perfectly!!!!!!! This will now be a staple!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was a perfect recipe for a summer party! Everyone had fun with this interactive meal. We used andouille sausage instead of kielbasa. A great continuation was to use the leftovers (if you have any) the next morning in an egg white omelette. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I had to cook the potatoes a few minutes longer than suggested, but other than that, the timing is Dead On. Everyone Loved the Food. Nothing was over or under cooked. I didn't brake up the crab, only because I was afraid it would get watery. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight; it was awesome! I added 4 garlic cloves and a quartered sweet onion to the water plus a whole lot of Old Bay. I started with 3 Tablespoons but that didn't look like enough so I free poured more in. (i grew up in MD where we use it instead of salt.) I used red potatoes, kielbasa, 2 ears of corn, 1 lb. of shrimp, and frozen dungeoness crab...made enough for 4. Served with tomato salad and fresh Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was an awesome recipe. I added some cajun flavor to it and it was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishellischef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
We loved this recipe! I changed to 6 servings, and this was a hit to all our guests! We added the onions and lemons that were suggested in their reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Absolutely delish! I used half Corona and half water for the boil. Because we like it spicy, I put red cayenne pepper and Old Bay seasoning in the beer/water before bringing to a boil. I used crab legs, shrimp, tilapia, crawfish, spicy sausage, fresh corn on the cob (cut in sections), and red potatoes. I also used Zatarain's Crab Boil. This was soooo good. We usually have leftovers, since it's now only my husband and I. Whatever little that was left over was gone by the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was the first time I made a low country boil, although I have eaten them before. My biggest problem with this recipe is that it did not specify how much water to use. I used the amount listed in the Frogmore Stew recipe (6 quarts and 2 ounces of Old Bay). I also used some suggestions and put in two lemons halved and a large sweet onion quartered. Then cooked the potatoes, sausage, corn, crab and shrimp as per the recipe. This is suppost to feed 15, don't think so 8 of us ate almost all of the boil. This will be on my list of things to make for large gatherings. Thanks Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States