Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Tried it several times and it's always a hit. Didn't have fresh corn so used the frozen niblets. Also added an onion and a lemon. I don't serve this on newspapers because I don't like the idea of eating ink and I know how easily it comes off on my hands just reading the paper. I have a huge platter that I use to serve it. (I don't peel the shrimp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Kuisle
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Don't use old bay seasoning use Zatarains crawfish, shrimp and crab boil(in a large pot use 1/4 to 1/2 cup based on how hot you like your food) Use smoke sausage or Farmer Boys Smoke sausage ..Also place a whole peeled onion and a lemon cut into four pieces. You must do this to stop the seafood flavor from overpowering meats etc. You want to taste all of the different food items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
We scaled this down for just my husband me and it's delicious (and one of our new favorite meals.) We just used fresh shrimp, corn, and potatoes, and cut the quantities down for two people. Super easy and good! We left the shells on our shrimp and added some garlic cloves and lemon to the water, along with a bottle of darker beer. It's nice to know you don't have to go big with this recipe and you can totally just make it for a quick weeknight dinner! We repeated this on our recent beach trip with fresh Gulf shrimp and it was to die for. So, so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Theresa
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I loooved this recipe! It was so simple, yet incredibly tasty! It is an economical alternative to Joe's Crab Shack's steam pots. I made this for my parents and enjoyed it so much that I hosted a crab dinner for a group of friends the very next weekend. I always add more lemons to the pot and my mom suggested that next time we add clams. I got great feedback from my family and friends who ate until they were stuffed. I definitely recommend this recipe =) I would suggest pairing it with Mexican Bean Salad or a pre-meal Strawberry Spinach Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I feel like I would have been happier with hot dogs and corn on the cob, so it was a lot of work for what it was. The shrimp tasted like nothing-- not even shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Amazing!!!!!! I added extra old bay, vidalia onion, bay leaf and lemon ...everyone was so impressed!!!!!! Also, everything was cooked perfectly!!!!!!! This will now be a staple!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was a perfect recipe for a summer party! Everyone had fun with this interactive meal. We used andouille sausage instead of kielbasa. A great continuation was to use the leftovers (if you have any) the next morning in an egg white omelette. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I had to cook the potatoes a few minutes longer than suggested, but other than that, the timing is Dead On. Everyone Loved the Food. Nothing was over or under cooked. I didn't brake up the crab, only because I was afraid it would get watery. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight; it was awesome! I added 4 garlic cloves and a quartered sweet onion to the water plus a whole lot of Old Bay. I started with 3 Tablespoons but that didn't look like enough so I free poured more in. (i grew up in MD where we use it instead of salt.) I used red potatoes, kielbasa, 2 ears of corn, 1 lb. of shrimp, and frozen dungeoness crab...made enough for 4. Served with tomato salad and fresh Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was an awesome recipe. I added some cajun flavor to it and it was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishellischef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States