Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
We made this today and it turned out delicious. The only thing we changed was that we added a beer to the boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
So easy and impressed the hell out of hubby on my first attempt with fresh seafood while at the beach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I made this for a Calif. group camping at our local fair. None had ever heard of it. A couple of the ladies turned their nose up at the newspaper cover. When I dumped it out, you would have thought it was Christmas day! Gone in half an hour, all rave reviews from kids and adults alike. I used Pensey's boil seasoning, added fresh peeled turnips, used crab, shrimp, small lobster, scallops, clams. Next time the Andoullie sausage will be added near the end of the boil, too overdone when cooked the full time. Will cook over open fire next time and use a larger cast iron kettle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
awesome recipe:) I grew up in TN but my dad made this regularly when I was a kid and I LOVED it. I have so many great memories of sitting @ the picnic table outside and sharing this with the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Excellent easy meal that will satisfy everyone.This something that you can play with adding or substracting depending on the diners likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Just moved to the east coast from Texas and was missing our crawtfish boils! Made this for our other Texas ex-pats and we all loved it!! I added 2 lemons, 5 cloves of garlic and used a leftover bag of seafood boil seasoning I had from a TX store. It was beyond yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Success!! I followed this recipe and the some hints from the comments below and impressed a group of 8. The presentation was fun, family style, and the food tasted fantastic. Clean up was super easy. I cooked on the stove and used 2 pots because I didn't have a big enough one - worked out great and I was the hit hostess!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I also like to throw in a couple of Vidalia onions. And use small red taters, or, split your big ones so they cook better. Also remember that the "boiling time" is after you have added the ingredients it cools down the mixture and you have to wait for the pot to start boiling again. Once it starts boiling again then start counting your cooking time. One more thing,,if you use the Seasoning bags, do NOT BREAK the bags open!! You will be forever picking little tiny peppers and stuff out of your teeth. Not to mention it gets all over your food, you want just the flavor, not the MESS! Personally I don't use the seasoning bags, I just use a goodly amount of salt. One more thing we also added, Blue Crabs. If you live on the coast you can catch all you will need and for that matter you can get all the shrimp you need too. So go buy a couple of crab traps and a 15ft cast net and bring home the (bacon) supper! Happy Boiling Ya'll !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadeuel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Donough, New York, USA
Living In: Americus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Love this recipe! It's great because the way each ingredient goes in for a certain length of time makes it all cooked exactly perfectly. But 2 tbsp of Bay Seasoning? Puhlease! We used half a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
AWESOME! I always look for the high-rated recipes, but usually don't get it exactly right and mess something up. Not this time...every bit of this was excellent. I think it is the best thing my wife and I ever made. We did add a lemon and a few onions from our garden. Not sure how much Old Bay Seasoning everybody uses, but we had a large pot and poured in about half a can...it was outstanding. The seafood was a little pricy, but well worth it - you couldn't go out to eat for what we spent on this feast. I told the lady at the seafood counter what I was making, and she grabbed all of the loose crab parts (lots of claws) which was good for this recipe. I love it! FIVE STARS (because I can't go any higher). Thanks, Mike in Knoxville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States