Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Threw some bay leaves in the water as well. This food was fun and delicious. I saw this on TV a week or so ago and I wanted to do it myself. This recipe is pretty much spot-on. I continued to taste my boiling water to make sure it was seasoned enough. The Old Bay did make the water a little on the spicy side but it didn't relate to the food. I have kids and they don't really care for spicy stuff. I think the Old Bay has a decent amount of pepper in it. It's a great dish and easy to do, perfect for parties or anytime for that matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
WOW! We took a chance and made this for the first time a big crowd of freinds and they LOVED IT! We added mussels, lemons, onions, garlic, beer LOTS of old bay, cajun seasoning and tabasco sauce. Took a liitle longer than 30 mins (i used larger taters), but overall fantastic. Oh, we used a turkey fryer and only added half of the crab legs to the boil and aggreed we perfer our crab legs steamed. Again, overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
A Family Favorite! We usually add 3 or 4 whole artichokes (tips trimmed) early on in the cooking and break the ears of corn in half before tossing them in about 5 minutes before the shrimp. We use a little more spicy- sometimes throwing in a few peppers from the garden. We serve with small bowls of melted butter and minced garlic for dipping ... mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
best of the best add mussels clams and lobster tails to all the good stuff. made it for 60 people and now it is a potluck thing. everybody brings a covered dish and extra to throw in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gaston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is so easy, and so yummy!! We were not sure how much old bay to use, and I think next time we will use more. Ours was really mild, but still delish. We did not add crab, as we did not have any, and we used jalapeno brats and turkey kielbasa. We also added a quartered onion. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
That's how its done! If available, I would substitute the kielbasa for andouille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I use this recipe every year for our annual crab boil. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
We made this today and it turned out delicious. The only thing we changed was that we added a beer to the boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
So easy and impressed the hell out of hubby on my first attempt with fresh seafood while at the beach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I made this for a Calif. group camping at our local fair. None had ever heard of it. A couple of the ladies turned their nose up at the newspaper cover. When I dumped it out, you would have thought it was Christmas day! Gone in half an hour, all rave reviews from kids and adults alike. I used Pensey's boil seasoning, added fresh peeled turnips, used crab, shrimp, small lobster, scallops, clams. Next time the Andoullie sausage will be added near the end of the boil, too overdone when cooked the full time. Will cook over open fire next time and use a larger cast iron kettle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States