Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight; it was awesome! I added 4 garlic cloves and a quartered sweet onion to the water plus a whole lot of Old Bay. I started with 3 Tablespoons but that didn't look like enough so I free poured more in. (i grew up in MD where we use it instead of salt.) I used red potatoes, kielbasa, 2 ears of corn, 1 lb. of shrimp, and frozen dungeoness crab...made enough for 4. Served with tomato salad and fresh Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was an awesome recipe. I added some cajun flavor to it and it was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishellischef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
We loved this recipe! I changed to 6 servings, and this was a hit to all our guests! We added the onions and lemons that were suggested in their reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Absolutely delish! I used half Corona and half water for the boil. Because we like it spicy, I put red cayenne pepper and Old Bay seasoning in the beer/water before bringing to a boil. I used crab legs, shrimp, tilapia, crawfish, spicy sausage, fresh corn on the cob (cut in sections), and red potatoes. I also used Zatarain's Crab Boil. This was soooo good. We usually have leftovers, since it's now only my husband and I. Whatever little that was left over was gone by the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was the first time I made a low country boil, although I have eaten them before. My biggest problem with this recipe is that it did not specify how much water to use. I used the amount listed in the Frogmore Stew recipe (6 quarts and 2 ounces of Old Bay). I also used some suggestions and put in two lemons halved and a large sweet onion quartered. Then cooked the potatoes, sausage, corn, crab and shrimp as per the recipe. This is suppost to feed 15, don't think so 8 of us ate almost all of the boil. This will be on my list of things to make for large gatherings. Thanks Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Over all the boil had a good taste to it but you have to adjust your cooking times, my potatoes and sausage were done faster then the time called for, my potatoes turn to mush and the sausage bloated by the time everything else was done. I also added lemon, garlic and onions like others suggested, I think that helps the recipe out a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I would kick up the spices next time. Everything tasted great but lacked a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloeandhunter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
My wife was skeptical of all the great reviews. I managed to talk her into trying it and... Wow! Let me say we all thoroughly enjoyed it. We did about 12 cups of water and 1/4 cup of Old Bay in our 6 quart pot (biggest we had- it worked fine, just be sure and keep an eye on it so it doesn't boil over). I also threw in a little Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning along with the onion and lemon mentioned in previous reviews. We used a pound of sausage, a pound of shrimp, 3 ears of corn cut in half, and six good sized new potatoes. Those ratios came out just perfect for 4 people. We may have overcooked the potatoes slightly but they were still very good. We will definitely be making this again, hopefully with fresh crawfish in there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is such an easy, crowd pleaser. You can easily vary the ingredients and servings. Add one can of a quality ale or lager and you've got the perfect cookout meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe was great. We added a bit more Old Bay after it was said and done and a little salt for the potatoes. Otherwise, it felt like a day at the beach, cooking up the days catch. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States