Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
One of the best starter recipes out there! explains process very well! Don't be afraid to be generous with seasonings and add items of your choosing, clams, muscles, artichokes....extra time for artichokes. Big uncut mushrooms at the end also soak up the best flavors of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
My family loved it I took the suggestion from others and added onion and a lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Yummers! I made for Christmas dinner for my boyfriend and I. So easy! Will make again to bring in spring or maybe for the Super Bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I have been looking for a seafood boil recipe and found it. This is a good one and I will be making this again. The only changes were that I used Spiny lobster tails (I catch them myself, lucky me) instead of crab and throw in a bag of seafood seasoning along with the Old Bay Seasoning as recommended (cuts down on the mess and adds more flavor) The seafood bags can be found at your local market next to the Old Bay Seasoning. The reviewers suggested a lemon sliced in half, squeeze in the pot, then add the lemon to the pot. I did this also. Great recipe and easy! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Tried it several times and it's always a hit. Didn't have fresh corn so used the frozen niblets. Also added an onion and a lemon. I don't serve this on newspapers because I don't like the idea of eating ink and I know how easily it comes off on my hands just reading the paper. I have a huge platter that I use to serve it. (I don't peel the shrimp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Kuisle
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Don't use old bay seasoning use Zatarains crawfish, shrimp and crab boil(in a large pot use 1/4 to 1/2 cup based on how hot you like your food) Use smoke sausage or Farmer Boys Smoke sausage ..Also place a whole peeled onion and a lemon cut into four pieces. You must do this to stop the seafood flavor from overpowering meats etc. You want to taste all of the different food items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
We scaled this down for just my husband me and it's delicious (and one of our new favorite meals.) We just used fresh shrimp, corn, and potatoes, and cut the quantities down for two people. Super easy and good! We left the shells on our shrimp and added some garlic cloves and lemon to the water, along with a bottle of darker beer. It's nice to know you don't have to go big with this recipe and you can totally just make it for a quick weeknight dinner! We repeated this on our recent beach trip with fresh Gulf shrimp and it was to die for. So, so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Theresa
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I loooved this recipe! It was so simple, yet incredibly tasty! It is an economical alternative to Joe's Crab Shack's steam pots. I made this for my parents and enjoyed it so much that I hosted a crab dinner for a group of friends the very next weekend. I always add more lemons to the pot and my mom suggested that next time we add clams. I got great feedback from my family and friends who ate until they were stuffed. I definitely recommend this recipe =) I would suggest pairing it with Mexican Bean Salad or a pre-meal Strawberry Spinach Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I feel like I would have been happier with hot dogs and corn on the cob, so it was a lot of work for what it was. The shrimp tasted like nothing-- not even shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Amazing!!!!!! I added extra old bay, vidalia onion, bay leaf and lemon ...everyone was so impressed!!!!!! Also, everything was cooked perfectly!!!!!!! This will now be a staple!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States