Dave's Low Country Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I also like to throw in a couple of Vidalia onions. And use small red taters, or, split your big ones so they cook better. Also remember that the "boiling time" is after you have added the ingredients it cools down the mixture and you have to wait for the pot to start boiling again. Once it starts boiling again then start counting your cooking time. One more thing,,if you use the Seasoning bags, do NOT BREAK the bags open!! You will be forever picking little tiny peppers and stuff out of your teeth. Not to mention it gets all over your food, you want just the flavor, not the MESS! Personally I don't use the seasoning bags, I just use a goodly amount of salt. One more thing we also added, Blue Crabs. If you live on the coast you can catch all you will need and for that matter you can get all the shrimp you need too. So go buy a couple of crab traps and a 15ft cast net and bring home the (bacon) supper! Happy Boiling Ya'll !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadeuel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Donough, New York, USA
Living In: Americus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Love this recipe! It's great because the way each ingredient goes in for a certain length of time makes it all cooked exactly perfectly. But 2 tbsp of Bay Seasoning? Puhlease! We used half a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
AWESOME! I always look for the high-rated recipes, but usually don't get it exactly right and mess something up. Not this time...every bit of this was excellent. I think it is the best thing my wife and I ever made. We did add a lemon and a few onions from our garden. Not sure how much Old Bay Seasoning everybody uses, but we had a large pot and poured in about half a can...it was outstanding. The seafood was a little pricy, but well worth it - you couldn't go out to eat for what we spent on this feast. I told the lady at the seafood counter what I was making, and she grabbed all of the loose crab parts (lots of claws) which was good for this recipe. I love it! FIVE STARS (because I can't go any higher). Thanks, Mike in Knoxville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Fantastic! From SC so I know my Low Country Boils. Thanks Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Fantastic - easy recipe, great results. My family is still talking about this meal. We added lemon juice to the boil, a dash of tabasco sauce and served with drawn butter for dipping the shrimp. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Followed this recipe, just used crawfish instead of crabs. I thought it would be so-so but it was really good. We will be having this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENDAST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KANANICOOKS
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Great timing in this recipe for the order of ingredients. I used a Zatarains crab boil bag for seasoning. This was delicious with the Maryland Blue Crab that I had. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Doesn't get much better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
wonderful!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dave’s Low Country Boil

Turn dinner into an event with an authentic crab boil. See how it’s done!

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States