Dave's Georgia Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made this as it was written with the exception of amount. (1.5 X original recipe). We had 40 people at a potluck, so I figured that would be the right amount as a side dish. In the end, this made a LOT of black eyed peas! 2 crock pots filled to the brim worth. My only warning would be that the 16 servings this recipe is for is for some hungry folks!! As far as the food itself goes... excellent. This is going to be my go to for BEP's from now on, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe. No modifications needed for me. The peas tuned out to taste much how I remember my mother's tasting when I was growing up in lower AL. Thanks for sharing, Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Gilbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Being from the south, black-eyed peas over rice is a staple during the winter. This recipe has a lot of flavor! I make this one A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Top notch. I used five cans of BEP's and half pound of cooked bacon and whatever ham I had left over and it was awesome. Made it in the slow-cooker and used hand blender to thicken a bit before serving. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
first time ever making these and i don't even eat them. got nothing but raves. will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was so good! I changed it a little. First I rinsed the peas and boiled them and let them sit an hour. Then I browned a chopped ham steak in a dutch oven. Removed the ham and sautéed the onion with garlic too and butter. Once those were caramelized I added the ham again and the water with only 2 cubes. I then added the drained peas and let it simmer with some salt and pepper. It was ready after 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made for a New Year's Day dinner party. 1/2 the recipe. I didn't use the water the beans had soaked in, I rinsed the beans after soaking them over night, put in crockpot with 2 cups of chicken stock and 1cup of water. I did not use bacon, cooked 1 cut up onion in butter and olive oil, added 2cups cut up ham and pepper then put in crockpot. Cooked on high for 1 hour then low for 6 hours. Perfect. No one had ever had black eyed peas but they all loved it and there was none left. Thanks for this easy wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Well I will have to say I doubted this would be good. I have never made a black eye pea recipe I liked... THIS WAS AWESOME!!! I will be making this every New Year from now on! Only thing I did different was use 1 Knorr beef stock in addition to the chicken bouillon cubes. Thank You for the kickin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Best I've had despite leaving out the ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Fantastic & easy. Put everything in the crockpot this morning (cooked on low for 10 hrs). I did add chopped carrots and celery, 1/2 cup each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States