Dave's Georgia Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very close to my own recipe. I used half of the suggested cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Really Tasty!! I never cared fror Black Eyed Peas until my borther-in-law requested them for New Years, as a traditional "good luck" dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Gandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Dave.. I'm from Savannah, Georgia and we always used hog jowl with our peas. I have mine ready as well as greens for money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
had to coddle a little more than i thought as the beans soaked up the water more than once. but worth all the work - these beans were the bomb! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is a really great recipe. I halved it. Really flavorful not too salty. I had already fried some bacon so I just cut up 6 strips of bacon and added them to the peas and I added 2 tbsp of unsalted butter since I did not have any bacon grease left. I microwaved the bacon. Did not add salt only pepper. I thought 4 bullion cubes would be too much but they were perfectly seasoned. Use vidalia onions or a peru sweet onion for more flavor. For the ham I used left over honey baked ham and removed the honey rind and fat. I think I simmered only about six hours but they were a nice soft consistency. A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very tasty. I made some variations, only because I cook with what i have on hand. Didn't have bacon but used bacon grease. Also sauteed some carrots, celery and garlic with the onions and sprinkled very little hot pepper in (more for flavor, not enough to make it hot). My two year old even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
One of the best black eyed pea recipes I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made these again this year. I only substituted the chicken bouillon for beef. Because chickens and other fowl move backward as they eat, that's not want you want for the new year. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I have never left a review on anything, but MAN these peas were that good. I used the recipe as written except I halfed it can only cooked it 4 hours due to less ingrediants and they were amazing! We lost my grandad this past year and it was his new years peas we gathered around every year, now my family has elected me to carry on that tradition! They were that good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Made Dave's black eyed pea recipe and it was fabulous. Best tasting peas I have evr eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thcallow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States