Dave's Georgia Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is absolutely amazing! I halved the recipe, added a little garlic, added a couple ham hocks and reduced the cooking time to about five hours. These peas were out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanycholmes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Boy, oh boy! This recipe is going in my cook book! I cut recipe in half. Used smoked country ham (that I'd already had). Didn't use bacon but had some bacon grease on hand that I used. This is a fine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Mmmmmm!!! Slap your Momma good! Make this and start your diet tomorrow. If you cut the recipe in half you will not have leftovers..... I used a Honey Baked Ham bone which I bought from the HBH store, if you buy a big bone it has a lot of ham still remaining and is soooo delish!! And dont forget to shred some cabbage (for money) and saute it with some onions and garlic. Happy New Year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamasita757
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Although I have eaten black eyed peas before, this was my first time ever making them. There is no need for me to ever search for another recipe. This recipe is perfect. The only change I made was that I substituted the ham for more bacon instead and I didn't add any salt, only pepper. Yummy!!! My husband says this will be our New Years tradition from here on out. Erica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Amazing! I was afraid of black eyed peas until this recipe! I'm pretty good at pinto beans, butterbeans and awesome at black beans, but was never able to make a good tasting pot of black eyes peas. Until now thanks to this recipe!!!! Happy New Year! Now let me see if I can master some collard greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Wagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
OMG! Best black eyed peas I've EVER had! The only change I made was to cut it in half to make 8 servings. Otherwise, made exactly as written. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My family is not big on pork so I only used this recipe as a base. I omitted the ham and bacon. I boiled a smoked turkey leg in with the chicken bouillon before adding the peas for flavor. I sautéed onions and also threw in a couple cloves of garlic, 2 jalapeño peppers and a couple of bay leaves in the butter. Also added a dash of cumin in with the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
OMG! Dave, marry me...lol j/k. This was the most awesome recipe for black-eyed peas I've run across. I made it for a pre-New Year's family gathering and I'm already hearing the rave reviews - everyone wants to know the recipe. Thanks so much for sharing. I used a garlic salt with parsley mix and added a bit of celery and it was fab. I think next time I'll try to add some carrot shreds as well. - Don't need to add those things but adding a few more veggees is always a good thing :) Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Im new to this website but I love LOVE love it already. I originally was just browsing through NYE lucky meals and since i just moved into my own place i felt like why not bring in the new year right? SO i searched for a black eyed pea recipe and what ya know? Dave's recipe popped up and boy am i glad!!!! Im extremely happy with the success of this recipe. although i tweaked it a bit,it tastes amazing. Instead of water i used beef broth and instead of actual bacon i used Pork Hog jowl.i put everything in the crock pot last night at about 7:30 and woke up this morning at about 8 and they are better than my grandmothers peas!!!! thanks Dave for this awesome recipe! Happy New Years Folks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States