Dave's Georgia Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I'm a Northerner living in the south. It's pretty much mandatory that you make a pot of black eyed peas for New Years Day. I've tasted others black eyes peas to utter distain. My husband asked if I would make a pot this year as we are having company over today for New Years. I found this recipe and followed the directions to the letter. This recipe makes Black Eyed Peas taste great! Everyone loved them. Thanks For posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Perfect! I used ham hocks instead of cubed ham only because that's what I had .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Good recipe. I had to add some extra salt, but otherwise quite tasty. Instead of cooking on the stove, I cooked my peas in the crock pot for 8 hours on low. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. I also feel that it needs to be noted that this recipe only feeds 16 if you are feeding FOOTBALL PLAYERS! Seriously, this would easily serve 24 unless the only thing you are eating is black eyed peas. Since they were so yummy, I just put them into the fridge, and I expect they will be even better reheated. However, if you are planning actual servings, note that it serves almost twice as many as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made this as it was written with the exception of amount. (1.5 X original recipe). We had 40 people at a potluck, so I figured that would be the right amount as a side dish. In the end, this made a LOT of black eyed peas! 2 crock pots filled to the brim worth. My only warning would be that the 16 servings this recipe is for is for some hungry folks!! As far as the food itself goes... excellent. This is going to be my go to for BEP's from now on, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe. No modifications needed for me. The peas tuned out to taste much how I remember my mother's tasting when I was growing up in lower AL. Thanks for sharing, Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Gilbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Being from the south, black-eyed peas over rice is a staple during the winter. This recipe has a lot of flavor! I make this one A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Top notch. I used five cans of BEP's and half pound of cooked bacon and whatever ham I had left over and it was awesome. Made it in the slow-cooker and used hand blender to thicken a bit before serving. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
first time ever making these and i don't even eat them. got nothing but raves. will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was so good! I changed it a little. First I rinsed the peas and boiled them and let them sit an hour. Then I browned a chopped ham steak in a dutch oven. Removed the ham and sautéed the onion with garlic too and butter. Once those were caramelized I added the ham again and the water with only 2 cubes. I then added the drained peas and let it simmer with some salt and pepper. It was ready after 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made for a New Year's Day dinner party. 1/2 the recipe. I didn't use the water the beans had soaked in, I rinsed the beans after soaking them over night, put in crockpot with 2 cups of chicken stock and 1cup of water. I did not use bacon, cooked 1 cut up onion in butter and olive oil, added 2cups cut up ham and pepper then put in crockpot. Cooked on high for 1 hour then low for 6 hours. Perfect. No one had ever had black eyed peas but they all loved it and there was none left. Thanks for this easy wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States