Dave's Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
There is nothing to be said that hasn't already been said. Besides that, it's not polite to talk with your mouth full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
Great slaw recipe, thanks Dave! I used a 16 oz bag of precut red and green cabbage with carrots. I added additional 5 baby shredded carrots since there didn't seem to be much carrot in the precut ingredients. I halved the dressing since I read all the other reviews. I also used 2 green onions and about 3/4 cup of sweet onion. That was plenty of onion. I did add more cayenne since I like my slaw to have a nice kick. I used 4 packets of Truvia instead of sugar. Our family follows the Primal lifestyle and try to avoid white sugar. I omitted the garlic and used season salt. I use Morton's season salt on everything since I love it. It's so easy and it has salt, pepper and garlic in it. The slaw only marinated about 4 hours before we ate it and it was still great. I'm sure the left overs will be awesome tomorrow. Thank you for a great recipe that really makes an ordinary BBQ side dish outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Wow....this is great...don't change a thing. I thought it would be really runny dressing but after letting it sit the suggested 8 hours or more it was perfect with my slow cooker pulled pork sandwiches.....and loved the touch of mustard and dill pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I'm usually not a big fan of coleslaw; too goopy and too sweet. I really wanted coleslaw to go with pulled pork, however. This recipe intrigued me because of sharp ingredients like mustard, pickles and vinegar. I thought that would complement the pork nicely. I cut way down on the sugar and on the mayo and Greek yogurt (which I substituted for the buttermilk since that's what I had). Turned out I enjoyed this a lot! I may shock some of my friends that I will actually make coleslaw as a side dish in the future simply because I like it; if it's this recipe, that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Used bread and butter pickles instead of dill since I didn't have any...this recipe is fantastic! I won't be buying marzetti's cole slaw dressing anymore, thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I just finished making this recipe and doubled it. It will sit in the fridge overnight to be served for Easter early dinner for 20 people. I didn't have pickles and used pickle relish,instead, so no juice. I added more cayenne. From what I tasted before putting it in the fridge, it tasted delicious. I am a coleslaw fan, so let's see how it goes with the fam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Yum! Did not add the mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Amazing! This is the best coleslaw recipe. 1 head of cabbage is about 2 bags of shredded (15 0z bags). I used half the amount of buttermilk. The addition of 1 apple finely cubed mixed with 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice made this even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I made this for my son's 2nd birthday. I got soany compliments truly delicious. I also substituted the dill pickle for sweet relish so it came out sweeter, I made it the night before the party and the next day it was even better (hence the compliments lol) thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Wow! Enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.M.Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States