Dave's Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I have spent years looking for a great cole slaw recipe and this IS IT! Tart, tangy perfectly balanced - Dave you did it - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Excellent and easy cole slaw dressing, but WAY too much of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
this is the only recipe i will be using from now on. i didn't have a pickle, so i used a tablespoon of dill relish instead. also decreased sugar to 1/4 cup. tasted great and got better with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
My first attempt at cole slaw, and by the sounds of things, it'll be the most requested recipe from me from now on! Thanks, Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Boulder, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Tastes just like at a fast food chains that I love. I made this for a BBQ, and a girls mom told me she didn't eat colesalw. Well, I gave her some anyway and she at 3 helping. she loved it and her mom couldn't believe it. A new favorite coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Excellent recipe, Dave! I suppose the fact that it was too much dressing may have something to do with the size of the cabbage head. I like my slaw a little toward the dry side when using in hotdogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was my first attempt at making cole slaw and I had great results. Just want to note that I substituted the dill pickle and pickle juice for sweet relish--just a personal preference. Also, I have made this many, many times and now I add only a medium onion per head of cabbage. I was being told that the onion flavor was a bit overpowering, so I have cut it back considerably. It's also worth mentioning to experiment with different types of mustard. I have used sweet and spicy and dijons, all with great results. The sugar balances it out nicely. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirjmiggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bushkill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Great coleslaw ROXY! Needed a side for our Surf and Turf BBQ and this was it! I love the pickle! Next time I'll cut back on the amount of sweet onion and add another baby kosher dill. I put the leftover dressing in the fridge and poured it over a spinach salad the next day... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Mmmmm Mmmmm Goooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
wow! I am not a cole slaw lover, but this was delicious! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States