Dave's Big Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Just made these with Red Flame raisins from Indio, CA. I guess I thought the raisins could carry them, followed the recipe. They turned out a bit bland for my taste, could see adding nuts and more spice, and some butter. A vintage recipe worth tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Black

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Fantastic cookie! I used a little less salt (1 tsp) and used 1 cup brown and 1 cup white sugar. They were delicious - light, soft and sweet! I tried baking batches at 375 and 350 - I found they turned out best at in my electric oven at 375 on an upper level rack. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Mine turned out to be cake like, and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pottergirl
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
a great cookie recipe. i dont like raisins but i love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pottergirl
Home Town: Bakersville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
With 1 tsp of salt, they were out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very cake like. Mine did not spread but puffed up so I did the PB cookie trick and marked them with a fork. They still puffed up but not as much. Made a nice design on the top. Could have used a little more spice but a nice cookie overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
If you love raisins, you will love this cookie. The predominant flavor of the raisins provides extra sweetness to the cookies. Next time I would add walnuts to tone down the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I love raisins and these cookies are absolutely the best raisin cookies in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome cookies! Once in a while instead of boiling the raisins I soak them in spiced rum overnight :) Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States