Dave's Big Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Just made these with Red Flame raisins from Indio, CA. I guess I thought the raisins could carry them, followed the recipe. They turned out a bit bland for my taste, could see adding nuts and more spice, and some butter. A vintage recipe worth tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Black

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Fantastic cookie! I used a little less salt (1 tsp) and used 1 cup brown and 1 cup white sugar. They were delicious - light, soft and sweet! I tried baking batches at 375 and 350 - I found they turned out best at in my electric oven at 375 on an upper level rack. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Mine turned out to be cake like, and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber Cheuvront
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
a great cookie recipe. i dont like raisins but i love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Cheuvront
Home Town: Bakersville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
With 1 tsp of salt, they were out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very cake like. Mine did not spread but puffed up so I did the PB cookie trick and marked them with a fork. They still puffed up but not as much. Made a nice design on the top. Could have used a little more spice but a nice cookie overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
If you love raisins, you will love this cookie. The predominant flavor of the raisins provides extra sweetness to the cookies. Next time I would add walnuts to tone down the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I love raisins and these cookies are absolutely the best raisin cookies in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome cookies! Once in a while instead of boiling the raisins I soak them in spiced rum overnight :) Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States