Dave's BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I found this to be the best base for a great BBQ sauce ever! I used it to beef up bottled sauce by adding to it. I omitted the hot sauce for our own tastes. I added 1 cup of bottled BBQ sauce, one small red onion-diced and half of a green bell pepper-diced. I also used molasses and sugar substitute instead of the brown sugar. Delish and the best beefy BBQ this side of NJ!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This was tasty for a red sauce. I did only put in a dash of the hot sauce cause the kids were eating it on chicken quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I needed a bbq sauce tonight for the Hawian Belly Buster Burgers on this site. Thank you, this worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Didn't change a thing!!!! PERFECT!!!!! Thank you Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleesia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was absolutely delicious! I have searched high and low for a good recipe with Whiskey and this is definitely a keeper! I added a little bit more liquid smoke for our taste and it was awesome! Thanks for the recipe! Will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was really really good! BUT, if you're looking for the genuine "BBQ" flavor- this isn't really that- but me and my hubby LOVED it. Tastes so good on out hamburgers. It's a definate keeper! (didn't have a lemon, so I used 1 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice.) Oh and I used 2 cloves of minced garlic instead of powder as I LOVE garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I would more consider this as a sauce for shrimp cocktail - not a bbq sauce. As a seafood sauce - I'd give this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Very tasty sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This recipe is simple and delicious! I halved it for some meatballs. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Loved it! I was looking for something with the ingredients I had, and this was it! I doubled the recipe as follows: 1/2 c. apple cider vinegar, 1 cup ketchup, 3/4 c. water, 1/2 c. brown sugar, sprinkle of Lawry's seasoning, a couple dashes of worcestersire sauce, and... I sauteed a 1/4 of a small onion (chopped fine)and 1 chopped garlic clove and tossed it all in the bowl at the same time. I did make a couple of squirts of ketchup to make a thicker consistency. After all that....I had some boneless pork ribs, tossed them in the crockpot and put the BBQ mixture over the top. Stirred together and cooked about 4 hrs. on high, then turned to low until we were ready for dinner. When we were ready to eat, I took a large slotted spoon and separated the pork. I then ladled it onto good hamburger buns and even the kids ate all their dinner! I think next time I will use the Hawaiian buns. Overall, YUMMY!! (even hubby said so and he doesn't say things too often!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philomath, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States