Dave's BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
While I usually use this sauce recipe, tonight I made a BBQ chicken recipe that had its own sauce version, so I thought I would give it a try. NEVER AGAIN! I will be loyal do Dave and his BBQ sauce from now on!! Great Recipe, THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
It was great but I also kicked it up like a member did with liquid smoke and pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
very good for baked bbq chicken.. i added liquid smoke and used fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
If you're using this as a replacement for bottled BBQ sauce, you're going to be disappointed. However, if you're using this for a meat baster or IN something calling for BBQ sauce, it imparts nice flavor. I used this in "Slow Cooker Baked Beans" by wannabe chefette on this site and it was a PERFECT addition to that recipe, in lieu of bottled BBQ sauce. THANKS for the recipe, Dave G!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This recipe is so easy and keeps well. The only thing i did different is i didn't have enough ketchup so i subbed chili sauce and it turned out great. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Clintonville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was amazing! I thought it would be too ketchupy, but it was fantastic, and got better the longer it sat. I used smoked salt in place of the soy sauce and microplaned in the onion (I eyeballed it) and one clove of garlic for 1/4 of the recipe. I didn't have fresh lemons so I used lemon juice. Thanks so much, Dave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is pretty similar to the bbqsauce I make, but I highly recommed use canned tomato sauce instead of ketsup, after all ketchup is tomato sauce sugar and viniger. Apple cider viniger works even better. Also a shot of burbon for the sauce works well, one for the cook works well to:-). Add liquid smoke to taste, but If you get heartburn as I do going lightly on anything smokey helps. Try some Dales's Seasoning instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great basic recipe, I kicked it up a couple notches by adding a couple tablespoons of mustard, teaspoon or 2 minced garlic, teaspoon of chili powder, and about 1/3 cup of dark beer. It was a little overpowering for a dipping sauce but when cooked over ribs was incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
It doesn't taste like BBQ sauce to me. Too much ketchup taste. Might be good with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States