Dave's BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I was making ribs and realized I didn't have any BBQ sauce. I picked this one out because it looked tasty, and it didn't let me down. My husband was shocked that I made it myself, and I have to say, I like it better than bottled sauce. Finger licking good! (we used it on pork ribs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was really really good! BUT, if you're looking for the genuine "BBQ" flavor- this isn't really that- but me and my hubby LOVED it. Tastes so good on out hamburgers. It's a definate keeper! (didn't have a lemon, so I used 1 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice.) Oh and I used 2 cloves of minced garlic instead of powder as I LOVE garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Really good. My husband couldn't tell it didn't come out of a bottle. This was a super easy recipe that was great because I had all the ingredients on hand. I will keep in mind for the next time I want bbqed chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Loved it! I was looking for something with the ingredients I had, and this was it! I doubled the recipe as follows: 1/2 c. apple cider vinegar, 1 cup ketchup, 3/4 c. water, 1/2 c. brown sugar, sprinkle of Lawry's seasoning, a couple dashes of worcestersire sauce, and... I sauteed a 1/4 of a small onion (chopped fine)and 1 chopped garlic clove and tossed it all in the bowl at the same time. I did make a couple of squirts of ketchup to make a thicker consistency. After all that....I had some boneless pork ribs, tossed them in the crockpot and put the BBQ mixture over the top. Stirred together and cooked about 4 hrs. on high, then turned to low until we were ready for dinner. When we were ready to eat, I took a large slotted spoon and separated the pork. I then ladled it onto good hamburger buns and even the kids ate all their dinner! I think next time I will use the Hawaiian buns. Overall, YUMMY!! (even hubby said so and he doesn't say things too often!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philomath, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
i would not consider this to be a bbq sauce. it is more like ketchup with a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was good; we used it for our 4th of July BBQ... I added a tsp. of liquid smoke and a touch of cayenne for spice! Kept the chicken moist, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
It was a good recipe to use in a pinch, as all ingredients are usually easily accessible. It kept the meat tender. Next time I will add more fresh garlic and smoke flavour and maybe 1Tbsp whiskey! You won't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I would more consider this as a sauce for shrimp cocktail - not a bbq sauce. As a seafood sauce - I'd give this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I needed a bbq sauce tonight for the Hawian Belly Buster Burgers on this site. Thank you, this worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Very quick and easy. I blended it in a blender...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States