Dave's BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good base recipe! Kids wanted hot dogs and had no BBQ sauce. Well this hit the spot fine. Did not have onions so used minced onions after tasted it was a little too ketchupy so doubled the Worcestershire, soy and hot pepper sauce and added .5 TSP of hot paprika. Came out pretty good my kids loved it although a little spicy, but they like it spicy like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is now in our family's recipe box.Use this recipe everytime we BBQ.My husband likes to add Captain Morgan rum.Delicious sauce.Can't be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco&Bailey's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This sauce was really good! Was a bit too spicy but in all other terms this is a really good recipe! thanks Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lamy, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Thank you! No BBQ sauce and the stores are all closed because it's Christmas. I had everything in the pantry. Just enough kick and we added a little honey. Love it, we won't buy BBQ sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Perfect recipe to start your "base". The only thing I omitted was the onion and lemon simply because I was out. Ground mustard, onion powder and "Jersey Death sauce" gave it the perfect kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dudefromelko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elko, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Good basic bbq sauce would work with beef or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was good; we used it for our 4th of July BBQ... I added a tsp. of liquid smoke and a touch of cayenne for spice! Kept the chicken moist, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I made this because I had run out of my bottled sauce...and I will never buy bottled sauce again. My family loved it and even my little 6 year old that doesn't like meat loved it on country style pork ribs. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bridgett mcd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
It was a great basic sauce, but I was looking for something spicy! So I doubled the hot pepper sauce, and the garlic. Then I threw in a dash of cayenne, a squirt of mustard, and some celery salt. Yum! Thanks for a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
It was a good recipe to use in a pinch, as all ingredients are usually easily accessible. It kept the meat tender. Next time I will add more fresh garlic and smoke flavour and maybe 1Tbsp whiskey! You won't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States