Dave's BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
It was great but I also kicked it up like a member did with liquid smoke and pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
very good for baked bbq chicken.. i added liquid smoke and used fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
If you're using this as a replacement for bottled BBQ sauce, you're going to be disappointed. However, if you're using this for a meat baster or IN something calling for BBQ sauce, it imparts nice flavor. I used this in "Slow Cooker Baked Beans" by wannabe chefette on this site and it was a PERFECT addition to that recipe, in lieu of bottled BBQ sauce. THANKS for the recipe, Dave G!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This recipe is so easy and keeps well. The only thing i did different is i didn't have enough ketchup so i subbed chili sauce and it turned out great. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Clintonville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was amazing! I thought it would be too ketchupy, but it was fantastic, and got better the longer it sat. I used smoked salt in place of the soy sauce and microplaned in the onion (I eyeballed it) and one clove of garlic for 1/4 of the recipe. I didn't have fresh lemons so I used lemon juice. Thanks so much, Dave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is pretty similar to the bbqsauce I make, but I highly recommed use canned tomato sauce instead of ketsup, after all ketchup is tomato sauce sugar and viniger. Apple cider viniger works even better. Also a shot of burbon for the sauce works well, one for the cook works well to:-). Add liquid smoke to taste, but If you get heartburn as I do going lightly on anything smokey helps. Try some Dales's Seasoning instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great basic recipe, I kicked it up a couple notches by adding a couple tablespoons of mustard, teaspoon or 2 minced garlic, teaspoon of chili powder, and about 1/3 cup of dark beer. It was a little overpowering for a dipping sauce but when cooked over ribs was incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
It doesn't taste like BBQ sauce to me. Too much ketchup taste. Might be good with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Dave, your BBQ Sauce is one of my family's favorite BBQ Sauces! The hot pepper in this recipe really gives this sauce quite a kick! I recommend a tall glass of water to drink along with this Sauce! I have made this BBQ Sauce several times; it's great with Kielbasa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zababen1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good base recipe! Kids wanted hot dogs and had no BBQ sauce. Well this hit the spot fine. Did not have onions so used minced onions after tasted it was a little too ketchupy so doubled the Worcestershire, soy and hot pepper sauce and added .5 TSP of hot paprika. Came out pretty good my kids loved it although a little spicy, but they like it spicy like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States