Date and Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very dense, & heavy. Grandson took some in school lunch with pb&j and seemed to get some attention from some of the adults there. Found it a little hard to slice. Used coffee and added fruit and nuts at the start of cycle. Increased recipe to 16 servings because my machine can handle it. Didn't have rolled oats. Substituted the quick oats and I think this may account for the texture. Will make again. Seems like a very healthy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Very good flavor and just the right amount of sweetness. I'll make this bread again, but next time I'll add just a little more salt. I made this in a bread maker on the dough setting adding the dates & almonds after about 27 minutes, but I rolled the dough out and placed it in a loaf pan for the second rise. It only took 23-25 minutes to bake to a golden brown at 350°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
The bread was a success , but it wan't as sweet as I would like :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nawal F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Love, love, love this recipe- make it all the time. Flavor is so amazing - I use dates & sunflower seeds. But - every loaf falls in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalama, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Very good. Loved this bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodnews4u

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This bread is delicious! I addede dates in the beginning, so there were only few visible specks of them in the baked loaf. Almonds add a nice crunch. I will be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I have had this recipe saved forever and I finally made it. It is delicious. Moist, hearty, faintly sweet and so easy with the bread machine! I left my almond a little on the bigger side of chopped and I get a nice crunch every now and then. It's lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Amazing. I added a full cup of chopped up dates right at the beginning so the kidlets wouldn't see "things" in their bread. Turned out amazing tasted great lightly toasted with peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
We loved this bread. I did use raisins and sunflower seeds for the fruit and nuts and it was lovely. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I do not have a bread machine but it still turned out perfectly. It's a very moist, tasty bread. All it requires to omit the machine is putting the dry ingredients together, including the dates (I used dried and pitted rather than fresh), and then adding the water/oil/honey/yeast mixture (after the yeast has been activated) to it. I kneaded it for about 10 minutes and then let it rise twice for about an hour each time in our microwave with a cup of boiling water beside it to help it rise. Baked it at 350 for ~35 minutes or so. Great bread! I'll make another batch soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States