Date Roll Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Thank you so much for submitting this yummy candy recipe. When I was a child my mom use to make this candy around christmas and EVERYONE loved it so much. I have been searching and searching for this recipe for years, since I had lost my mom. Thank you Sandra!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I'm not sure that this recipe had all the ingredients listed! I didn't understand what "softball" stage meant --- when I was finished, I felt that all I had was a log of suger! Yuk! I would love to hear more about this recipe from Sandra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This recipe is great with TWO cups of sugar. Helps reduce the "white stuff" we all get too much of. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This candy is a festive tasting candy. The longer you let is mellow the better it is. Making it was a family Christmas tradition when I was growing up. Make it with your children and grandchildren for some fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
My father made this recipe every Christmas. We called it "snake" candy because it is formed into a long roll before slicing. It is absolutely delicious and would make a great holiday gift. It is very simple to make, taking less than 30 minutes with a food processor to chop the dates and pecans.I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Just as good as my mom made when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My aunt made something similar. We called it Aunt Irene's date roll (very creative, LOL) My mom made it when we were kids. Because of pitted and chopped dates, chopped pecans, and no stick pots, I am exploring some of my ancestor's recipes (hated cracking pecans as a kid!!) Anyway, I live at 7,000 ft and everything is coming out very sugary. I am trying to follow the Univ. of Las Cruces, Hi Alt. candy guidelines (see their website): minus 2 degrees for every 1,000 which for me is minus 14 and hope that solves the problem. Would love to hear from others who have tried candy at hi alt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is decent as written, but it does feel far too sweet (I know it's candy, but still). Changes I wish I had made: chopping the walnuts and dates more coarsely so as to have larger chunks of each, and cutting down the sugar so as to let the dates and nuts take a more prominent role. I'll do that next time, if there is a next time; should result in a more sophisticated end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Awesome Candy. This is the same recipe my grandmother used to make for me at Christmas. I am 65 years old. This recipe has been around along time. lol Brings back fond childhood memories at Grandma and Grandpa Carter's home at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I must have overcooked the milk and sugar as this came out grainy and crumbling....and I used a candy thermometer....not sure what happened but not a good batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States