Date Roll Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I've been making this candy every Christmas since 1966. My grandmother made it every Christmas when I was a child. Three stars for this recipe because I think the 1 tablespoon of butter and teaspoon of vanilla was left out. Also, I cook the sugar, milk (I use whole milk) and pitted dates together until the soft ball stage. Then then add the nuts, butter and vanilla and beat until cool. Wrap in a wet towel and form into a log. Let cool completely and slice. This candy is delicious, melt in your mouth and different from the ordinary Christmas candy everyone makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Stirring the mixture while its boiling makes the sugar crystallize and you end up with a log of balled sugar. Is that the intended outcome of this candy? I think it would be delicious if it were creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
You left out the 2 tablespoons of butter and teaspoon of vanilla which is added when the mixture is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is the exact same Date Candy my mother use to make at Christmas. My mother NEVER measured ingredients so when I tried to make the candy it was always a challenge. Now having the correct measurements for the ingredients I can pass the recipe along to my children and grandchildren Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Missing Ingredients! I believe what this is missing is 1 tablespoon butter with the sugar and milk and 1 teaspoon vanilla with the dates and nuts. I prefer real butter and vanilla but margarine and vanilla flavoring will work. Cooking just short of the soft ball stage and beating in the dates and nuts with a wooden spoon makes it a bit creamier. Toasted pecans are our preferred nuts for this. I also use 1 1/2 cups of dates. My Grandmother made this every year until she couldn't, then my Mother took over. I inherited it when my Mom passed away. I am now teaching my daughter and daughter-in-law the tricks to making this wonderful candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I must have overcooked the milk and sugar as this came out grainy and crumbling....and I used a candy thermometer....not sure what happened but not a good batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Awesome Candy. This is the same recipe my grandmother used to make for me at Christmas. I am 65 years old. This recipe has been around along time. lol Brings back fond childhood memories at Grandma and Grandpa Carter's home at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is decent as written, but it does feel far too sweet (I know it's candy, but still). Changes I wish I had made: chopping the walnuts and dates more coarsely so as to have larger chunks of each, and cutting down the sugar so as to let the dates and nuts take a more prominent role. I'll do that next time, if there is a next time; should result in a more sophisticated end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My aunt made something similar. We called it Aunt Irene's date roll (very creative, LOL) My mom made it when we were kids. Because of pitted and chopped dates, chopped pecans, and no stick pots, I am exploring some of my ancestor's recipes (hated cracking pecans as a kid!!) Anyway, I live at 7,000 ft and everything is coming out very sugary. I am trying to follow the Univ. of Las Cruces, Hi Alt. candy guidelines (see their website): minus 2 degrees for every 1,000 which for me is minus 14 and hope that solves the problem. Would love to hear from others who have tried candy at hi alt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Just as good as my mom made when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States