Date Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I added the zest of one orange and love the results! If that had been an ingredient in the original recipe I would have given this 5 stars. I was very pleased with the moisture level - it may have been due to my modifications: I used canola oil instead of butter and used one whole egg instead of two egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Delicious. I read the reviews and modified: used 2 whole eggs, used 1/2 wheat flour, and added a whole pear - pureed- instead of the butter and applesauce. Also added cinnamon and nutmeg. It is moist, the perfect sweetness, and delicious. Made 16 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Use fresh dates. Muffins taste best when warm and dates are gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggy Ann
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
After reading the reviews I decided to make a few changes when I made them. I wanted them to be moist so used 2 regular eggs. I did not have the dates so I shredded some carrots ,used 1/2 cup . To make a little more healthy I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 reg. flour. Also used 1 cup skim milk, and 1/2 cup apllesauce instead of the melted butter. Added 1/4 cup pecans & 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon for extra flavor. The batter was a little thin so added an extra 1/3 cup oatmeal. it's not cold anymore so don't make oatmeal in the morning and this recipe is a good way to get oatmeal into your diet. This recipe turned out good and moist almost like a carrot cake muffin. Will try with dates next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
a bit dry....my kids did not like these muffins.....although I did....although not very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Really delicious, but a bit crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Very tasty and moist! However, they stuck to the muffin papers. I think this is a result of omitting the egg yolks, as I've had this issue with some low-fat muffin recipes before. Next time I will definitely leave in either one or both egg yolks. That's the only reason it did not rate 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
i increases the chopped dates to 3/4 cup & my muffins came out fine. i froze half & took the rest on vacation. they store well & seemed to taste better the next day or so. thanks sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
AWESOME! We loved these. I've been searching for portable treats we can use at road races to replenish energy after the race. These muffins are in the winner's circle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States