Date Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Peggy Ann
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
After reading the reviews I decided to make a few changes when I made them. I wanted them to be moist so used 2 regular eggs. I did not have the dates so I shredded some carrots ,used 1/2 cup . To make a little more healthy I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 reg. flour. Also used 1 cup skim milk, and 1/2 cup apllesauce instead of the melted butter. Added 1/4 cup pecans & 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon for extra flavor. The batter was a little thin so added an extra 1/3 cup oatmeal. it's not cold anymore so don't make oatmeal in the morning and this recipe is a good way to get oatmeal into your diet. This recipe turned out good and moist almost like a carrot cake muffin. Will try with dates next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
I made this recipe as a gift for a health concious neighbor. I took them over while her parents, as well as her daughter, son-in-law, and 3 very young grand-daughters were visiting. All 4 generations loved it! Personally, I intend to add more brown sugar when I make it for my family, we have quite a sweet tooth! Also, the recipe yielded a few more muffins that stated, which is always a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2000
Dates were left out of the ingredient list on this recipe! I added 3/4 cups and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Very tasty and moist! However, they stuck to the muffin papers. I think this is a result of omitting the egg yolks, as I've had this issue with some low-fat muffin recipes before. Next time I will definitely leave in either one or both egg yolks. That's the only reason it did not rate 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made these to give to friends, but happily had enough to keep a few. After reading other reviews, I made a few adjustments. I used 2 whole eggs, increased the applesauce to 1/3 of a cup, used 1/4 cup canola oil instead of butter. increased the dates to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Delicious! Not overly sweet, but flavorful with good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
They are bland. They were nice and moist (I used 2 full eggs) though. Next time I try them I'll try increasing applesauce and will add raisins, chocolate chips or dried cranberries in addition to the dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Use fresh dates. Muffins taste best when warm and dates are gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
a bit dry....my kids did not like these muffins.....although I did....although not very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
i increases the chopped dates to 3/4 cup & my muffins came out fine. i froze half & took the rest on vacation. they store well & seemed to taste better the next day or so. thanks sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I added the zest of one orange and love the results! If that had been an ingredient in the original recipe I would have given this 5 stars. I was very pleased with the moisture level - it may have been due to my modifications: I used canola oil instead of butter and used one whole egg instead of two egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Quinoa Muffins

A great breakfast or lunch recipe for leftover quinoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States