Date Nut Pinwheel Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This really is easy, To make them easier to cut and slice, cut the ends straight before spreading the date mixture then roll and refrigerate or freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I have made these for years. After you roll them up, wrap them in waxed paper and freeze them overnight. Remove from freezer, slice with a sharp knife and bake. Joyln
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJOYLN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
These tasted good, but mine didn't look anything like the picture! Obviously, I need practice with pinwheel making. I made a couple of mistakes. First, I used chopped pecans direct from the bag; didn't chop finer. So when I attempt to put the filling on the rolled-out dough...what a challenge. Second, for the first batch, I attempted to slice after filling/rolling. The dough is just too soft to slice, even with a sharp knife. The result is an oval-shaped blob which doesn't bake up into a nice 'pinwheel.' I found the dough really soft; used lots of flour when rolling. Didn't appear to affect the flavor or texture. I would give this recipe a four for flavor. My three rating is because this dough really can't be sliced without re-chilling, or freezing. (I froze the other two rolls; haven't baked them yet.) But, a super-good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
These were delicious in flavor, but the dough was a little tough to work with. I made the logs and froze them for a few weeks until i needed them. Of all the christmas cookies i made, these were the big hit. I got a lot of great comments on them (and i had about 4 varieties in the box). I'll make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
The dough was a little sweeter than I anticipated but an excellent cookie. They take time to make but it was convenient to have the rolls in the freezer for 'fresh from the oven' treats. I took them out of the freezer, turned on the oven, greased the cookie sheet and had hot cookies in less than 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MELANIE17R
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Don't roll out each dough section more than 10x14, or you will run out of filling. By the third section I figured out what worked best. I also added fresh nutmeg to make it more Christmasy. I had to use the back of a spoon to smoth out the filling on the dough. It's best to roll it out fast and before it gets to warm to spread the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These cookies are SO good! My grandmother used to make them when I was growing up, and now it just isn't christmas without them. My kids love their shape, and I love that they aren't too sweet. I used to run out of filling before I ran out of dough, but have learned that a very thin layer of filling goes a long way. Also, I refrigerate them overnight so that they are very easy to slice the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
These have a nice flavor, but what a pain in the butt to work with! This dough is VERY sticky. It stuck to the wax paper, it tore when I rolled it out, it tore when I "attempted" to roll it up, and it stuck to my "sharp" knife trying to slice it. I would strongly suggest, you lightly grease your wax paper, and let it chill in your "freezer" before slicing. Also, there wasn't enough filling for all three pieces, I could only fill two. What a nightmare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I really love these cookies. They have been my favorite Christmas cookies for many years. My mom used to to make them every year. She unfortunately lost the recipe. I was so happy to have found it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States