Date Nut Pinwheel Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is so much like my mother-in-law's recipe that I'll give it 5 without using it. I have a suggestion about slicing the dough. Use dental floss. Slide it under the dough, bring the ends up over the top, cross, and pull. I have trouble with the dough sticking to the waxed paper, but today when I did my recipe I floured the waxed paper first and it seemed easier. Does anyone have a sure-fire way to make this less trouble?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
my husband and i just got married new years and he has told me about these cookies that his grandmother used to make for him. I got this recipe and gave it a try i sent some with him to work got a call at lunch that i hit the nail on the head he just reqested more of the feeling in them. thank you so much for sharing this recipe. Now i am able to give him back some of his childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bartow, Florida, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
These were seriously GOOD! I added them to my cookie lineup at Christmas and they were a hit. I took the advice of others and froze my rolls before I baked them. I just wish I could come up with a way to make them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MELANIE17R
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Don't roll out each dough section more than 10x14, or you will run out of filling. By the third section I figured out what worked best. I also added fresh nutmeg to make it more Christmasy. I had to use the back of a spoon to smoth out the filling on the dough. It's best to roll it out fast and before it gets to warm to spread the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These cookies are SO good! My grandmother used to make them when I was growing up, and now it just isn't christmas without them. My kids love their shape, and I love that they aren't too sweet. I used to run out of filling before I ran out of dough, but have learned that a very thin layer of filling goes a long way. Also, I refrigerate them overnight so that they are very easy to slice the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
These are like the ones I made with my Grandma years ago, she made them without a recipe so I have been hunting for this. Loved by everyone who had them. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greenwood Village, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was such a hit at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morenci, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richards Bay, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
The dough was a little sweeter than I anticipated but an excellent cookie. They take time to make but it was convenient to have the rolls in the freezer for 'fresh from the oven' treats. I took them out of the freezer, turned on the oven, greased the cookie sheet and had hot cookies in less than 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
These were delicious in flavor, but the dough was a little tough to work with. I made the logs and froze them for a few weeks until i needed them. Of all the christmas cookies i made, these were the big hit. I got a lot of great comments on them (and i had about 4 varieties in the box). I'll make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This really is easy, To make them easier to cut and slice, cut the ends straight before spreading the date mixture then roll and refrigerate or freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States