Date Nut Pinwheel Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Karl Weinsteiger
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Worth every step. Almost have a fig newton taste. And after there were some leftover after the holidays they were great dipped in coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karl Weinsteiger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bozrah, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Too much taste testing as I went along! The lemon adds a FABULOUS flavor. I didn't find theses too time consuming. I didn't change a thing. I did take another reader's suggestion and used an electric knife for slicing. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These aren't bad - but they aren't great. They are less sweet and don't taste like traditional date nut pinwheels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
It has been 50 years or so since I've had these. They are very close to what Mom made back then. Sure they are a lot of work, but worth every minute. The lemon zest and juice are just brilliant. The right amount of tangy to offset the sweetness of the dates. Mmmm, think I'll have another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
MY MOM USED TO MAKE THESE AND I HAD LOST THE RECIPE IN KATRINA. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE IS THAT SHE USED PECANS INSTEAD OF WALNUTS. THANKS SO MUCH FOR POSTING THIS FOR ME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Thank you for posting this recipe. My Grandmother and I made date pinwheels every Christmas and since her death, the recipe got lost. This is almost identical in flavor to hers and I'm just thrilled. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sj1384

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lexington, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
These are the BEST DATE PINWHEELS I ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherma Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeside, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These were a good addition to our Christmas cookie collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
No one ever said these would be easy to make. Not that they're overly difficult, but they are somewhat labor intensive. I grew up with cookies very similar to these and wanted to recreate them. After tasting these I think I like these better. I'm pretty sure my mother didn't use lemon juice/zest, but I did. It cuts through the sweetness of the dates. The citrus really comes through. The only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the dough. If you have an electric knife, this is a great time to use it. It makes cutting these cookies a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made this with lemon zest substituted. The dough is a little sticky and hard to make a perfect pinwheel with but the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States