Date Nut Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This a delicious, MOIST date nut cake. I never thought I would find one! The only change I made was I substituted 1/2 C. of the water for 1/2 C. brandy. This made it awesome! Yummmmmmmy! Thank you for submitting this recipe. Susan in NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Wow! Soooo good! Will now be a repeat treat for me. I subbed 1/2 the flour with whole wheat flour and cut out 1/4 cup of the sugar. I think this recipe is a bit mislabeled as a "cake" because it's the texture of a sweet bread. Also, watch the bake time; mine was a bit dry and I only baked it for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
this was so good , i substituted 1/2 cup of brown sugar for some of white sugar for a darker color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I was cleaning out the freezer and found 1/2 a box of dates and 1/2 pkg. of pecans. Got on here and searched for a date nut loaf and this one was the recipe I decided on. I was going to take this to the school tomorrow and put it in the teacher's lounge but I just had to get into it. I was so suprised---it is amazing! I have eaten 1/2 the loaf already. I can't really taste the dates, its more of a nut loaf, but maybe that is because I subbed pecans for walnuts. But still---amazing! Very sweet and moist! Had with several afternoon cups of tea (: Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This cake was a hit at our christmas party. I added little nutmeg and ground cloves to the batter and it really turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
I broiled stlitely the brown sugar sauce to make it just a little crispy, and it was the best date loaf I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Delicious flavour...ate it straight out of the oven; crispy on the outside and moist on the inside, a bit crumbly but not complaining. I didn't bother with the sauce, sounds delicious but don't need the extra calories! Would make a lovely dessert with it tho. I used a bit less sugar, some whole wheat flour and added a few extra dates and nuts; also used a medium sized sauce pan and after mixing the date mixture, just added the flour etc to the saucepan...voila saved washing that extra bowl. Thanks for the yummy recipe, will make many times I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I doubled the recipe, added an extra egg and baked this in a greased/floured non-stick tube pan for approx. 45 minutes. It was delicioius
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I've tried a couple of date and walnut cake recipes which have turned out less than perfect. This one is a wonderful recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. I will definitely be making this again. I didn't have any chopped walnuts - only shelled, so I broke these up a bit before adding them. There were a few big pieces in the finished loaf, which I actually liked although I will make sure I have chopped walnuts in the house the next time I make this. I didn't use the extra bowl to mix the dry ingredients in, I just added everything to the pan, which definitely made the cleaning up easier. I really can't fault this recipe. It was easy to make and the finished loaf was very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by choppie
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is my first attempt at baking since I became disabled 6 years ago. I was excited to see this recipe was simple, Oh, forgot, I had to use hazel nuts since that is all I had. It turned out quite good in spite of me. :) Thank you for giving me my confidence back when it comes to baking! I even posted a pic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choppie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States