Date Nut Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Very good loaf. I cut sugar to 3/4 cup, exchange 1/4 cup water with Captain Morgan Spiced Rum which I marinated the dates in for a couple hours, used 2 tsp rum flavor instead of vanilla. Also cut back the butter a bit, maybe 2 tablespoons. Baked for 40 minutes. Turned out very moist & tasty. When cooking the dates, don't allow all the liquid to cook out. Bring them to boil, stir in sugar & butter, then remove from stove. Makes for moist loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Great recipe...didn't have the nuts, so I made it without...everyone loved it...didn't use the sauce on top either and everyone asked me for the recipe. Thanks, Rae for this great cake/bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Delicious flavour...ate it straight out of the oven; crispy on the outside and moist on the inside, a bit crumbly but not complaining. I didn't bother with the sauce, sounds delicious but don't need the extra calories! Would make a lovely dessert with it tho. I used a bit less sugar, some whole wheat flour and added a few extra dates and nuts; also used a medium sized sauce pan and after mixing the date mixture, just added the flour etc to the saucepan...voila saved washing that extra bowl. Thanks for the yummy recipe, will make many times I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
very nice. hard on the outside, soft and warm on the inside. i soaked the raisins in rum beforehand and substituted 1 cup of water with haft rum(after soaking the raisins)-half water for deeper flavour. It turned out great. thankx for the recipe! will be making it again soon x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This date nut loaf cake was excellent. So easy & much like the date nut loaf I have purchased up in Amish country. Also freezes well. so you can make ahead of time. I made it exactly as described, but added more nuts & dates. Will add even more next time. Thank You for a long sought after recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
FABULOUS. I REDUCED THE RECEIPT TO HALF, BECAUSE THEIR ARE ONLY THE TWO OF US, BUT I WISH I DIDN'T, BECAUSE WE JUST ATE THE WHOLE LOAF IN ONE DAY. I DID NOT MAKE THE SAUCE, BUT DID ADD 1/4 CUP OF ORANGE JUICE TO WHOLES IN TOP OF CAKE WHILE STILL WARM. SINCERELY MARLENEV
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This recipe looks like it will be delicious as written, but I'm on a health kick and the dates are very sweet so I altered it a bit. I used only 2/3 C white sugar. For the 1-1/2 c flour, I substituted a combination of 3/4c white flour and 3/4c wheat flour with a few spoonfuls of ground flaxseed mixed in. It is delicious even with all the changes and without the yummy sounding sauce. Thank you, Rae, for a great recipe...hope you don't mind the alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Very nice and not too sweet. I used Pecans and only baked it for 45 min....came out perfect. I opted not to make the sauce. Date Nut Loaf was wonderful plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This bread was fabulous! Left out the nuts because no one in my family likes nuts, but still tasted great! I made a cream cheese frosting to top it off. I am planning on making again(2 nights in a row) because the first loaf is all gone & everyone wants more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
very good. will make again;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States