Date Nut Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
My family are not cake people but we loved this! Halved the amount of sugar as the dates were already really sweet. Loved that it was super dense (it didn't really rise, I seem to have bad luck with cakes doing that) and felt like a bread loaf thing. From a family who usually take a small bite of cake and leave the rest on the plate to an entire cake disappearing in a few hours was quite amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Who says old dogs can't learn new tricks,well this old dog learn a new trick .Have made date and nut loaf for years but thought l would check all recipes for fun and sure enough this looked so easy though l would try and by golly it is easy and delicious. When something like this works why spoil it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I substituted 1/4 cup of the water with rum, and used 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of white sugar. I also used 2 eggs. It turned out wonderfully, but I might use even less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made it just like the recipe said. I used the black walnuts I cracked. I used a 12 oz package of un pitted dates. It made about 1 packed cup of chopped dates after removing pits. Did try to topping. Would like to try it by substituting 1/2 cup spiced rum or brandy for 1/2 cup water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is seriously the best date nut cake/bread I have ever eaten (sorry Grandma). So moist and sweet. I've made it with and without the sauce, it's too good either way. Everybody goes crazy for it. It's excellent when made exactly to the recipe and it's still good when you sub whole wheat for half of the flour and use 1/4 cup less sugar. Thanks for sharing this recipe Rae...cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very good! I baked according to directions, but can see how you can change spices for seasonal application. Definitely give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deweyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennedale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Yummy! And a very easy recipe. I used half brown sugar and half white and used pecans instead of walnuts since that's what I had. I haven't tried the sauce and eat it as a quick bread instead of a cake. I've made it twice so far and expect it will be a go to recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
All round great recipe. Easy and quick to prepare. I substituted chopped hazelnuts instead of walnuts, the flavour was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I've tried a couple of date and walnut cake recipes which have turned out less than perfect. This one is a wonderful recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. I will definitely be making this again. I didn't have any chopped walnuts - only shelled, so I broke these up a bit before adding them. There were a few big pieces in the finished loaf, which I actually liked although I will make sure I have chopped walnuts in the house the next time I make this. I didn't use the extra bowl to mix the dry ingredients in, I just added everything to the pan, which definitely made the cleaning up easier. I really can't fault this recipe. It was easy to make and the finished loaf was very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Very good loaf. I cut sugar to 3/4 cup, exchange 1/4 cup water with Captain Morgan Spiced Rum which I marinated the dates in for a couple hours, used 2 tsp rum flavor instead of vanilla. Also cut back the butter a bit, maybe 2 tablespoons. Baked for 40 minutes. Turned out very moist & tasty. When cooking the dates, don't allow all the liquid to cook out. Bring them to boil, stir in sugar & butter, then remove from stove. Makes for moist loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States