Date Nut Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very good! I baked according to directions, but can see how you can change spices for seasonal application. Definitely give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deweyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennedale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Yummy! And a very easy recipe. I used half brown sugar and half white and used pecans instead of walnuts since that's what I had. I haven't tried the sauce and eat it as a quick bread instead of a cake. I've made it twice so far and expect it will be a go to recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
All round great recipe. Easy and quick to prepare. I substituted chopped hazelnuts instead of walnuts, the flavour was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I've tried a couple of date and walnut cake recipes which have turned out less than perfect. This one is a wonderful recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. I will definitely be making this again. I didn't have any chopped walnuts - only shelled, so I broke these up a bit before adding them. There were a few big pieces in the finished loaf, which I actually liked although I will make sure I have chopped walnuts in the house the next time I make this. I didn't use the extra bowl to mix the dry ingredients in, I just added everything to the pan, which definitely made the cleaning up easier. I really can't fault this recipe. It was easy to make and the finished loaf was very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Very good loaf. I cut sugar to 3/4 cup, exchange 1/4 cup water with Captain Morgan Spiced Rum which I marinated the dates in for a couple hours, used 2 tsp rum flavor instead of vanilla. Also cut back the butter a bit, maybe 2 tablespoons. Baked for 40 minutes. Turned out very moist & tasty. When cooking the dates, don't allow all the liquid to cook out. Bring them to boil, stir in sugar & butter, then remove from stove. Makes for moist loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Great recipe...didn't have the nuts, so I made it without...everyone loved it...didn't use the sauce on top either and everyone asked me for the recipe. Thanks, Rae for this great cake/bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Delicious flavour...ate it straight out of the oven; crispy on the outside and moist on the inside, a bit crumbly but not complaining. I didn't bother with the sauce, sounds delicious but don't need the extra calories! Would make a lovely dessert with it tho. I used a bit less sugar, some whole wheat flour and added a few extra dates and nuts; also used a medium sized sauce pan and after mixing the date mixture, just added the flour etc to the saucepan...voila saved washing that extra bowl. Thanks for the yummy recipe, will make many times I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
very nice. hard on the outside, soft and warm on the inside. i soaked the raisins in rum beforehand and substituted 1 cup of water with haft rum(after soaking the raisins)-half water for deeper flavour. It turned out great. thankx for the recipe! will be making it again soon x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This date nut loaf cake was excellent. So easy & much like the date nut loaf I have purchased up in Amish country. Also freezes well. so you can make ahead of time. I made it exactly as described, but added more nuts & dates. Will add even more next time. Thank You for a long sought after recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
FABULOUS. I REDUCED THE RECEIPT TO HALF, BECAUSE THEIR ARE ONLY THE TWO OF US, BUT I WISH I DIDN'T, BECAUSE WE JUST ATE THE WHOLE LOAF IN ONE DAY. I DID NOT MAKE THE SAUCE, BUT DID ADD 1/4 CUP OF ORANGE JUICE TO WHOLES IN TOP OF CAKE WHILE STILL WARM. SINCERELY MARLENEV
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States