Date Nut Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This recipe is great! I did it without the sauce and added some walnuts that I toasted....to say the least it was amazing. The loaf is moist and super yummy even without the nuts. I used the Madjool dates which don't need to be boiled with water so I just cut out that part. Very please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shilaan Said

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This was awesome! I followed the recipe exactly and it was so easy and so so tasty! One thing I particularly liked about it is that it is good with or without the sauce. Thanks Rae!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Truly is a HUGE favorite in my home. Love the flavor, and keeps very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquattyButt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I made it last Sunday, while cleaning the house, cooking and doing some laundry. It's really that easy to make and it tastes very very nice. I liked it better when totally cooled, as it got more moist. The only changes I made was using brown sugar, 1 extra teaspoon of vanilla extract and I added 1 teaspoon of browning for a darker color. I baked it in a round 8 inch dark metal thin and it took exactly half an hour in my oven at 325 F. Perhaps next time I will check on it after 20 or 25 min for some extra moisture. I will definitely be trying it out with other combinations like prunes and bigareux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
My family are not cake people but we loved this! Halved the amount of sugar as the dates were already really sweet. Loved that it was super dense (it didn't really rise, I seem to have bad luck with cakes doing that) and felt like a bread loaf thing. From a family who usually take a small bite of cake and leave the rest on the plate to an entire cake disappearing in a few hours was quite amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Who says old dogs can't learn new tricks,well this old dog learn a new trick .Have made date and nut loaf for years but thought l would check all recipes for fun and sure enough this looked so easy though l would try and by golly it is easy and delicious. When something like this works why spoil it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I substituted 1/4 cup of the water with rum, and used 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of white sugar. I also used 2 eggs. It turned out wonderfully, but I might use even less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made it just like the recipe said. I used the black walnuts I cracked. I used a 12 oz package of un pitted dates. It made about 1 packed cup of chopped dates after removing pits. Did try to topping. Would like to try it by substituting 1/2 cup spiced rum or brandy for 1/2 cup water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is seriously the best date nut cake/bread I have ever eaten (sorry Grandma). So moist and sweet. I've made it with and without the sauce, it's too good either way. Everybody goes crazy for it. It's excellent when made exactly to the recipe and it's still good when you sub whole wheat for half of the flour and use 1/4 cup less sugar. Thanks for sharing this recipe Rae...cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very good! I baked according to directions, but can see how you can change spices for seasonal application. Definitely give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deweyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennedale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States